Tres Leches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Made this today, according to the recipe. The resulting cake was denser than I like, perhaps a result of using butter in the batter. The Tres Leches recipe on this site submitted by Monica is a straight forward sponge cake. Once the milk is absorbed, this cake has a wonderful texture. Using coconut milk instead ofsweetened condensed milk can add a nice flavor variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
this cake is very good ,my family ate the whole cake in 3 days , that's a record ,a cake last us about a week and a half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I made this cake and my husband absolutely fell in love with it. He is always requesting it. I followed the instructions correctly, and it was perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
For all the bad ratings out there on this recipe, I wonder if the people were cooking instead of baking. There is a difference, and those that know it know what I'm talking about. When the recipe calls for the butter to be at room temperature, that's what it needs to be at, or otherwise bad things can happen. Creaming the butter and sugar is an important step, one that can't be done by a half minute of the hand beater, rather it should be done in a stand mixer until it is light and fluffy, like the recipe calls for. The only substitution I made was to use cake flour instead of all purpose, due to the fact that cake flour has less protein and gluten, making it able to be lighter and fluffier than all-purpose, which is better for crusty breads and other yeast risen baked goods. That being said, this was an incredible cake that had all my guests raving. Follow the recipe exactly as it says, use the proper baking utensils, (If you do a lot of baking, you already have a Kitchen Aid stand mixer. If you don't, you don't bake much.) and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I'm not sure what the others that rated this recipe might have done or tried before but...everyone I've made this for raves about it. The friends that introduced me to it at work...everyone raved about it. It cake does have an "eggy" taste and I've made it with 8 eggs instead of 9-seemed to make difference in rise or texture and tasted less eggy. Making this cake is deffinately an art-you really have to take care with folding in the egg whites. Baking time is an estimate for every oven-just let it cook a bit longer, until it sets, usually 40-45 minutes for me. Other than those things, it does not taste like a "boxed Cake" my friend tried it that way and we HATED, well not really but definately not the same taste or texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I just served this cake and received high compliments! I have tried 6 different recipes for this cake and the 7th time was a charm. Trust me, I've had many different types of this cake and the reviews vary. I used one less egg and added a tbs of rum to the milk mixture. It also helps to let the cake sit overnight. It had the correct consistency and was not a nasty "wet" cake. Use the freshest ingredients and the cake is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I have had tres leches before and I absolutely love it, but this recipe didn't seem to give the right directions. I thought that i was doing what the recipe said to do, but it ended up comming out very heavy- almolt like a custard. That is not how tres leches is supposed to taste. For all the work it required, it seemed like a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This is EASILY the worst Tres Leches recipe I have ever tried. The cake is nowhere near firm enough to support the milk mixture without becoming soggy. You might as well put a store bought yellow cake mix in a bowl of milk. In addition, the timings are not even close to being correct. The cake won't even have set by the time it gets to 30 minutes. On the good site, this recipe is what finally got me to register for this site. I really wish I had read some of these reviews before wasted my money on this. NOTE: If you have tried this recipe, you STILL don't know whether you like Tres Leches because you still have never TRIED Tres Leches. This is DEFINITELY not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
This is the worst Tres Leches I've ever had. It doesn't taste like tres leches or have the consistency of tres leches. I made it twice thinking I had done something wrong the first time. But it wasn't me, it was definately the recipe. I think it has too many egg yolks. I'm not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I originally made this cake for a school project. It was very time-consuming, but it was worth it--I got an A! The recipe is a nice balance between moist and soggy. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Homemade Twinkies

See how to make this classic snack cake from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States