Tres Leches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This is the worst recipe for any cake I have ever made. I bake all the time. There are so many eggs in the cake, they sink to the bottom of the pan while cooking leaving the top half of the cake nearly perfect and fluffy and the bottom half very hard and dense. Not suitable at all for serving. I'm moving on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesCastillo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Jefferson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
REMEMBER TO SOFTEN YOUR BUTTER. Try putting it in a plastic tupperware and beating it with something flat, such as one of your measuring cups. Stir it until it is soft, then gradually add the sugar. stir until FLUFFY. Then add the other ingredients listed, MIX WITH A FORK, and as soon as it's all together in the same bowl, begin whipping it to smooth it out. MAKE SURE IT IS A SMOOTH BATTER before you put it in the oven. About the milks, stir them SLOWLY and GENTLY with a SPOON. Trust me, it's much simpler. As an addition, I substituted the Cream of Tartar with 1 teaspoon evaporated milk and about 1/4 teaspoon baking powder, and I baked two smaller cakes out of this much batter. They both turned out wonderfully. This is the very best Tres Leches cake recipe I have seen so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Recently I was in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica, where I had some really great Tres Leches cake ar a tapas restaurant. My felow diners all agreed that it was outstanding. Upon my return, I just had to try and recreate this gem. I used this recipe and brought the cake to a friend's home where it was met with raves of approval (one of the guests is the manager of a very upscale banquet facility and she asked for the recipe). I was just invited back for Easter dinner and have been asked to bring the Tres Leches cake. I agree with other posters that "unless you have a Kitchen Aid, you're not really a baker" is just absurd. (I do have one and love it, but managed pretty well before I got it. Being a photographer, I should have taken a shot of the first one...I will next week. This is an excellent recipe, thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This recipe FAILS! You need a convection oven AND an electric mixer to even come close. I've wasted my time twice with this recipe. Tastes like an omlette, I call it the failure cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I think this is a very good dessert I cooked it for a school project and it got voted to be cooked in the school! Guess who had to cook it my Geography teacher he said it was really good he says he cooks it all the time for his wife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Can this recipe me made a day ahead?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Loved this. I used cake flour, took my time beating the ingredients, used 1/2 teaspoon of cocounut flavoring and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Also, I poked wholes in the top of the cake with a cooking fork. It was delicious! The cake is heavy and moist and wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I certainly don't understand the bad reviews for this recipe, and I really don't get how some people ended up with a cheesecake consistency. The key step is folding in the egg whites...that is what incorporates air into the batter to make it nice and fluffy. I had no problems with this, and it turned out just fine for me. I did use cake flour though, so I recommend it for anyone planning to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
After reading all the reviews (positive and negative), I decided to make this cake anyway. Well, I'm sorry I did! The cake ended up VERY dense and I was very disappointed (especially since I planned to serve it at a New Year's dinner). I decided to leave it for the birds...they'll need something heavy to eat to hold them thru the winter. I gave it 1 start for the sauce...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Whoever said you have to use a stand mixer was right. I used mine to make the batter, transfered it to a different bowl, then used the mixer to make the egg whites peak. I followed the directions exactly. This cake is so delicious! If I ordered it for dessert at a restaurant I would not be disappointed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States