Tres Leches III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I tried this for my family and the cake tasted very good. The only problem is that it wasn't sponge cake... it was more like pound cake. I'm going to try this recipe one more time in the oven I'm used to, and we'll see how it goes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Wonderful recipe and tasted fantastic. Had never made this before and really scored points with our dinner guests. Cut the recipe in half and had too much milk left over so will modify that next time. Thanks...really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is wthout a doubt one of the best Tres Leches recipes I have tried, believe me if takes a little longer oto prepare than some of the others but it is well woth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I found this cake to be a wonderful, true Tres Leches cake, I really don't know what people are complaining about. Follow the recipe...room temp butter, and be sure and gently fold in the eggs. The only variation I made was that I used 3 eggs, not 9. My cake didn't taste like eggs at all and it made a perfect sponge cake. This cake does take more like 45 minutes baking time. It was not set at 30 minutes (maybe due to the difference in fewer eggs). I baked the cake in a springform pan and cut into two layers. (Be sure and knife around the edges before removing pan) I put each layer in its own pan then I added the milk the first day and let the cake sit in the frig soaking up milk until the 2nd day. It is hard to remove the layers this way but I was able to slide and stack the two cakes with a spatula. I put whipped cream filling and strawberries between the two layers, and it came out beautifully! I didn't use this icing, I used the one on Allrecipes titled Whipped Cream Filling, only I tripled the conf sugar to get it sweet. That recipe uses gelatin to stabilize the icing so it will last longer. The only reason I didnt give it 5 stars is because of the baking time, the eggs need reducing, and the icing recipe isn't stable or sweet. I needed my cake to be good for a few days in the frig and the icing in this recipe will break down faster. BTW, I don't have a stand mixer either and I have been baking for YEARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Tres Leches is one of my favorite desserts. I tried making this recipe while in Quito,Ecuador at 9,300 feet. It didn't come out as well as I had hoped it would, but it was my first attempt at Tres Leches. I look forward to trying it again when I get back home at 5,200 feet. I'll let you know how it comes aout at a lower altitude.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Cake was incredibly moist. My guests loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDDE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made this a day and a half ahead of time. I was told it was so rich and good. I personally do not like milk so not a good judge. Three or 4 days later, I took the remainder to my husband's office and they loved it also. I followed the recipe exactly as it is written. The only difference was that I waited until the next morning to pour on the whipped cream and sugar mixture. I was told it was good, but really rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Unfortunately it is like it is written, if you follow this recipe to the dot and are patient, then it comes out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
i have made this recipe probly 15 times already it is my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I give the tres leches a 3 stars for the milks. However i just bought a pound cake and used the 3 milks for the cake and topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States