Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Beth H
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I made this cake yesterday and my family loved it. As another reviewer mentioned, it sank in the middle. I am not an experienced baker and have no idea why this happened. Maybe its a characteristic of this kind of cake? I added 1/2 cup of sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla to the whipping cream when I made the frosting, which was delicious. I also arranged kiwi, strawberries and blueberries on the finished cake. It was a beautiful cake and I'm happy that I made it. When I find out how to fix the sinking thing, I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I have made this cake 3 times and each time it deflated in the middle...don't know why. Any answer? I also did not use all of the liquid and have enough for another cake. I also added a little sugar to the whipped cream frosting. The whipped cream did cover the middle inperfection. It is a very good cake and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Honestly, I give this one a boo. Maybe it was just me; but there was way too much liquid in the pan, even after I drained it. I think I'll look for a new recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is the go to cake when strawberry season rolls in. Now over time I've dabbled with changing things up. Use 1/4c. of fresh lime (or other citrus) juice plus 2T water for the liquid in the cake (nice little tang to it). Infuse the white sugar (granulated) with the zest of the citrus you pick. I've added rum to the milk sauce with great success. And we always use fresh fruit rather than canned. I use all the milk and we always pour the milk on while the cake is warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This cake was DELICIOUS!!!! My family and I ate the entire thing the night I made it. The only thing I didn't understand was the part about setting aside 1 cup of the milk mixture to whip for a topping. I was unable to whip it to a thick "frosting". Next time I will set aside only the whipping cream not the mixture of 3 milks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I had been using a different recipe before but decided to give this one a try. So glad I did! While I don't particularly like this cake, its my husband's favorite, so i made it for his birthday. I only had 7.5 inch round pans, so it only took about 20 mins in the oven. Also i used 1 cup of 2% milk instead of the 1/4 cup of heavy cream for the milk mixture and used all of it, since he likes it super wet. I took some of the whipped cream for the frosting and added about half a package of instant vanilla pudding mix and about 3/4 cup of homemade strawberry preserves and used that as filling. My husband said the cake was better than the ones from the pasteleria, and for a fraction of the cost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Excellent!! I followed the recipe very carefully (I also made few adjustments for the high altitud baking) and what a success!! I am from Mexico so I know about tres leches cake!! Even when I am used to more dense cakes this is very good as well!! (Baking is not my strenght) Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This is such a great recipe, I had a lot of fun making this, the creativity is endless. For the first time making it, it turned out alright, I look forward to experimenting with this, I added sugar to the whipped cream to give it a little more spirit, combined with strawberries, makes for a delicious dessert that all can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Mac Killigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is a great cake. I modified it a bit--used all of the milk mixture and let it sit overnight in the refrigerator. Made th whip cream layer the next day (added some vanilla and a little powdered sugar) and skipped the cherries. A Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was a great reciope. I added some vanilla and sugar to the frosting like others did. Next time I'll use some more of the milk mixture. I like my tres leches a little more wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States