Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I just made this and it turned out very well. I am an experienced cook and find that a lot of people that write reviews on this site obviously are not. It might help if recipes were rated as beginning, intermediate or experienced, the way knitting patterns are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Omg is the best recipe I ever try!! My cake was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrianna Jacob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
First time making this and it turned out delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My recipes
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
This recipe is great and easy to make! Although, I did make some changes. I baked it for 40 mins instead of 45. I used condensed, evaporated heavy cream and almond milk, so I should probably call mine Quattro leches lol. Otherwise, the cake itself is spongy and delicious. This recipe is definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I feel like this recipe is a bit to complex for an occasional baker. Like I'm definitely not a dessert chef, and I read a review that said if you don't fold in the egg whites just right, it won't be right. I obviously can't fold in egg whites, because the cake came out very dense, and the milk didn't absorb, and the cake was just bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Amazing! I made this for a "food day" in our AP Spanish class and everyone loved it! The taste is definitely worth the time you have to put in to making it. It has a texture similar to that of a spongecake, but tastes savory. Being that it is full of milk, be sure to keep it refrigerated! In addition, I just used a 9x13 inch glass pan and didn't transfer it to a serving dish and it worked out perfectly fine. I also didn't allow it too cool completely (mainly because I wasn't going to transfer it) before I added the milk mixture (which takes a fair amount of time to absorb into the cake). Though time-intensive, it is not a difficult recipe to follow, so don't be afraid, any beginning bakers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
First time I Had tres leches was recently and it was absolutely delicious. Decided to make it, using Monica's recipe. Made it twice with the same result - flat cake. I followed the recipe very closely. I was so disappointed that I couldn't make it especially since it was supposed to be dessert for Easter Sunday. :( I have no idea what I did wrong twice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe. Moist and delicious. Too many reviewers don't have experience baking and don't understand the directions. White sugar is granulated sugar and if your cake comes out flat is because you did not follow/understand the directions. Folding egg whites into the batter is a delicate process and is where people are making the mistake and over mixing. That or you forgot the baking powder. It is a shame people are allowed to write reviews when they did not understand the directions and are inexperienced bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great cake recipe. Easy to make for sure. This cake is not from Mexico, FYI it's from Cuba and moved to Miami and there in Miami is where it became very famous. It is a Cuban recipe brought to Cuba by the spaniards. Another country that uses this recipe a lot is Nicaragua, because of the influence of the Cubans during the exodus during castro's takeover. One if the best ones I've ever had is in the Havana Restaurant in West Palm Beach, FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was amazing!!!! Made it for thanksgiving and it was a definite HIT!! The only things I changed is I beat the whites with the sugar at the same time. Also I poured while hot the 1 can of condensed milk, 1 can of evaporated milk and measured in the evaporated milk can half regular milk and half whipping cream. It was delish super moist, spongy, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States