Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This is a great recipe. Moist and delicious. Too many reviewers don't have experience baking and don't understand the directions. White sugar is granulated sugar and if your cake comes out flat is because you did not follow/understand the directions. Folding egg whites into the batter is a delicate process and is where people are making the mistake and over mixing. That or you forgot the baking powder. It is a shame people are allowed to write reviews when they did not understand the directions and are inexperienced bakers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great cake recipe. Easy to make for sure. This cake is not from Mexico, FYI it's from Cuba and moved to Miami and there in Miami is where it became very famous. It is a Cuban recipe brought to Cuba by the spaniards. Another country that uses this recipe a lot is Nicaragua, because of the influence of the Cubans during the exodus during castro's takeover. One if the best ones I've ever had is in the Havana Restaurant in West Palm Beach, FL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was amazing!!!! Made it for thanksgiving and it was a definite HIT!! The only things I changed is I beat the whites with the sugar at the same time. Also I poured while hot the 1 can of condensed milk, 1 can of evaporated milk and measured in the evaporated milk can half regular milk and half whipping cream. It was delish super moist, spongy, and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Excellent, unique and relatively healthy (as far as cakes go). No butter and only 1 cup of sugar (plus sugar in condensed milk). Here are some tips (ignore everyone else :p): Bake for the recommended time. This cake will look finished on the outside after 15 minutes into baking. For newcomers to cooking, when the recipe says beat the eggs until soft peaks form (firm) this will take a while, especially if whisking by hand. The difference between firm peaks and stiff peaks is in the shape of the peak...if it looks like this ^ it's stiff.... if the peak settles down a little bit, but is still raised with a point, that is what you are shooting for (firm). THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT! If you don't get the eggs to this point your cake will not be spongy enough and will not absorb the milk properly. I used all of the milk and it turned out great :D Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Very good. Only substitution I made was substituting cake flour (1 c. + 2 T.) and added a pinch of salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
delicious , almost taste like a custard . love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I tasted this cake first in Honduras and loved it. This recipe is as close as I have been able to come to that experience. Everybody who tastes it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
All that talk about tres leches cake on the buzz , it got me motivated to finally make it after being so intimidated for a long time. I haven't had tres leches cake for almost 10 years. I chose this recipe from judging on the milk listed and technique. Anywho, this cake was fabulous!!! I made as written but wanted a touch of cinnamon to my milk mixture. I didn't taste any cinnamon because i added too little so next time I will double dash it and see if I like it best with it. Stay tuned....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made this cake for a party at work and everyone LOVED IT! Needless to say, there wasn't anythig left over! Will be making this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I attempted to make this after having a friend's Tres leches cake. His cake was an old authentic recipe. I was disappointed by this recipe. The instructions were simple enough to follow, the cake texture was good, but it was definitely missing something. I recall the cake he made as being melt-in-your-mouth delicious and there was quite a bit of liquid. This was more spongy and as the instructions called for - I discarded off some of the milk mixture - I immediately regretted it. The cake was more dry than i'm used to. I also believe that the cake is supposed to be served chilled, but i cannot recall if it's the milk mixture or the cake itself...... I added vanilla and strawberries to the whipped cream topping and some sugar for a little more sweetness. I was glad i did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States