Tres Leches Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Very good. Only substitution I made was substituting cake flour (1 c. + 2 T.) and added a pinch of salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Gables, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
delicious , almost taste like a custard . love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I tasted this cake first in Honduras and loved it. This recipe is as close as I have been able to come to that experience. Everybody who tastes it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
All that talk about tres leches cake on the buzz , it got me motivated to finally make it after being so intimidated for a long time. I haven't had tres leches cake for almost 10 years. I chose this recipe from judging on the milk listed and technique. Anywho, this cake was fabulous!!! I made as written but wanted a touch of cinnamon to my milk mixture. I didn't taste any cinnamon because i added too little so next time I will double dash it and see if I like it best with it. Stay tuned....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Made this cake for a party at work and everyone LOVED IT! Needless to say, there wasn't anythig left over! Will be making this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I attempted to make this after having a friend's Tres leches cake. His cake was an old authentic recipe. I was disappointed by this recipe. The instructions were simple enough to follow, the cake texture was good, but it was definitely missing something. I recall the cake he made as being melt-in-your-mouth delicious and there was quite a bit of liquid. This was more spongy and as the instructions called for - I discarded off some of the milk mixture - I immediately regretted it. The cake was more dry than i'm used to. I also believe that the cake is supposed to be served chilled, but i cannot recall if it's the milk mixture or the cake itself...... I added vanilla and strawberries to the whipped cream topping and some sugar for a little more sweetness. I was glad i did that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Excellent cake, done it many times. I cut the cake in half and put canned peaches, strawberries and blackberries after the liquid. Comes out very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Super easy, just a little time consuming. This is not too sweet, and is really moist. My husband usually hates cakes in general, but said he really liked this one, and in fact ate several slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Champenois Lmt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I have never made tres leches before but mine came out beautifully! It didn't sink and I think I can contribute that to folding in the egg white mixture just right. Don't overmix as other reviewers said, better to undermix then overmix. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Awesome cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tres Leches Cake

See how to make a classic, super-moist yellow cake.

Tres Leches Cake

Four kinds of milk give this tres leches cake its richness.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States