Trees, Seeds, and Beans (Broccoli Slaw) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
We enjoyed this salad, for many days. I doubled the recipe as I didn't want a half can of garbanzo beans left in the fridge. I made as written in the morning and we had it for supper. We also had this in lunches for a few days, and it held up really well. The night I made it, it was served with 'Barbecued Pork Kebabs' and 'Brazilian Grilled Pineapple' both recipes from AR. Thanks Rock_lobster, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
A favorite at our rehearsal dinner for my sons wedding. Small changes ... Grated the carrots, added small dice sweet red pepper 1/4 c, 1/4 mayo and 1/4 cup Greek yogurt. Did cook for one minute with 1/2 tsp baking soda, after putting in strainer, dunked in ice water and then on to paper towels two times to get as much water off ofthe broccoli as possible. Didn't add any salt as I used roasted salted sunflower seeds. Rest of ingredients were the same. Easy would do again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this for 10 servings. I added baking soda to water to make the broccoli brighter as another reviewer suggested. This is a new trick for me! I plumped up the raisins in hot water, then drained them before adding to veggies. I used low fat and regular mayo in 50/50 ratio to lower the fat a little. I substituted roasted pine nuts because I had them on hand. This is wonderful and I am going to use THIS sauce for my cole slaw in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Tasty sweet/tangy dressing that stretched farther than for 2.5c of broccoli (could easily double the amount of broccoli). I did NOT cook the broccoli. I used pepitas, pine nuts, and craisins in lieu of the sunflower seeds and raisins (it's what I had on hand). No garbanzos as they weren't in the house. Also used apple cider vinegar. I might use slightly less vinegar and sugar next time. But only slightly; it's delicious as written. I'll definitely make it again! (Over and over!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duckiewhomp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Liked the combination of seeds, broccoli, carrots and raisins, but did not like dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Great recipe but as a diabetic I made some changes. I use mayo made with olive oil, white wine vinegar and Stevia leaf drops (1 cup mayo, 1 tsp liquid stevia and 2 tbsp. white wine vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Very very good! I threw this together quickly for a side dish for dinner last night. It didn't get to cool for an hour in the fridge, but it was still tasty! The dressing is still a little runny after sitting in the fridge overnight, so I might try to find a way to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I really liked this and so did my family! Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
This was good! Loved the flavor! Changes I made this time: Used apple cider vinegar, cut down the sugar by one TBSP (personal taste), added baking soda to the water for the broccoli to really bring out the green, used craisins instead of raisins. (It's what I had on hand!) Next time I would- Not cook the broccoli! (More nutrition and more crunch raw!) Thanks for a great recipe! I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaana Smith Bauman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I really enjoyed this recipe. I used fat-free mayo, reduced the sugar by about half, and added a few extra pepper flakes and it turned out great. I love the contrast of the creamy dressing with the spicy pepper flakes! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States