Tree-Shaped Crescent Veggie Appetizers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I am cooking-challenged, but this is so easy, delicious, and beautiful even for me! I feel so proud when I bring this to a function and everyone oohs and ahs at how pretty it is. And then they taste it and can't believe how good it is. The yellow star and the red garland made from bell peppers are just gorgeous on here. I like to stick the rolls in the freezer for a couple of minutes before I open the can and slice them. It helps the rolls stay nice and round when they're being sliced. You can make the rolls into the shape of a big heart for Valentine's Day, and use red veggies like bell pepper & tomatoes, and even add some red food coloring to the cream cheese mixture to make it really Valentines-y. And you can do the shape of a pumpkin for Halloween parties and use carrots and orange bell peppers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I took this to a Christmas party and everyone LOVED it. I modified the sour cream/cream cheese mixture by adding 1/2 packet of ranch dressing mix to it and leaving out the dill and garlic. It really adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Made recipe as listed....and loved it, but... If you love a garlic/onion taste, keep recipe as is. If you want it a little milder, to please a more diverse crowd, I would halve the dill, and ease up on the garlic. Also, I will definately try freezing the dough for a few minutes before, which was suggested in a previous post. The cutting was a little difficult and sloppy for a beginner.. Otherwise..no complaints!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickey429

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Always a hit! Instead of 2 trees I sometimes make one large one. Bake top half on one cookie sheet and bottom half on another. Also good with herbed cream cheese. I do not use the dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I made this beautiful appetizer for our Family Christmas Party. It was a huge success, everyone was wondering about different ways to make it for other holidays. My only tip is to start by adding finely chopped broccoli add other veggies and end with finely chopped cauliflower, it really gives the appearence of snow on a tree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
What a BEAUTIFUL finger food to bring to a party. I got rave reviews from my co-workers! It couldn't be easier and was quite the hit. Many recipe requests for this one! Make it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is a very easy recipe and it looks great when presented. I have recieve many compliments. The only change that I make is omitt the dill weed and garlic powder and instead mix a packet of dry ranch dressing with the cream cheese and sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
A huge success at a get together! I made a single tree, so just halved the recipe. Also added more garlic and dried onions. Made the dip the night before so it could season. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was a big hit at a cookie exchange that I hosted. They now sell crescent rolls sliced into spirals as called for in the recipe. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made this last Christmas for my family to nibble on Christmas Day among a few other appetizers. This one was by far everyone's favorite and it was actually fun to make. I plan to make it again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Appetizers

Lots of little bites add up to big fun and a stress-free party.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States