Transformed Spinach Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is a great recipe, with a nice mix of flavors. I do not have a 9" pie plate, so put it in a 10", but when I got the vegetable mix in it, I wondered how it would ever fit in a 9"! I Agree with the first review; I would fry the onions, mushrooms, and garlic, then wilt the spinach in with it before adding it to the pie plate. I made it exactly like the recipe, and it turned out ok, but I think it would be a little less likely for the cheese to brown and turn tough in the middle if it wasn't so heaped up so high with the raw veggies! It was completely out of the egg mixture for most of the cookiing time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Overgaard
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent! I left out the feta and added 4 strips of crumbled bacon. My family loved this quiche, I will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Best Quiche I've ever tasted - and easy to make. I'm a bad cook, and I've done this several times without messing up. The cheese give it a fantastic flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. However I do have to squash the spinach and veg down about halfway through cooking to prevent it from burning. As long as it's covered in the egg mixture it's fine. Also I've found the edges of the crust need to be lower than the edge of the pie dish or they get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
10 stars! Oh wait, we can only give 5...5 then! Super easy and yummy! Healthy too which is great. Follow the recipe to the 'T' and you have a winner! : ) This actually would be good for kiddos b/c of the cheese and spinach is hidden muahaahaha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Fantastic! Didn't change a thing. It was a big hit on Mothers Day and it didn't make it past dinner that night. Everyone will love this, including the kids, just don't tell em there's spinach in it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This gets 5 stars from me because I changed it based on the ingredients I had on hand, and it still was great! Here's the changes: 1 deep dish pie crust; 1 can spinach, drained and squeezed dry; 1 tsp. onion powder; 1 tsp. garlic powder; 1/2 tsp. seasoned salt; 1 1/2 c. shredded Mexican blend cheese; 1/2 c. Parmesan cheese...didn't layer anything; beat the eggs and mixed it all together...baked at 350 degrees for 1 hour and cooled for 1/2 hour. It turned out tasty and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My husband and I like more flavor, so I added teaspoons of finely chopped oregano and some dried Italian seasoning for a little more kick. I only had goat's cheese, but that tasted amazing. I followed the instructions and came out with a very pie that sliced easily and stayed together, but tasted very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyoracle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is the second time I am making this quiche in the last week. I saute the veggies in ~1/4 c. butter and add my spices to the sauteed mix at the end (that way the spices don't clump in the egg/milk mixture). I also skip the swiss cheese because I never have any on hand. This time I am subbing swiss chard for spinach. My son LOVES this and begs me to make "egg pie." I've been using the Easy Pie Crust by: B1BMOM Edit: I use maybe 1/4 c. milk or cream because I always go heavy on the veggies. This last time I shouldn't have added any milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
very good recipe- I also precooked the vegetables until spinach wilted and added some green pepper-- mixed it into egg mixture- used 5 eggs and a little more milk - some paprika sprinkled on top- also used coby cheese and feta. I had a roma tomato and sliced thinly on top - perfect! The crust never turned soggy, we are trying not to eat meat, so this is a keeper for us and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
After sauteing a half of a red onion (Julienne cuts) and Baby Portobello mushrooms in Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO), I wilted some fresh Baby Spinach and added some Julienne cut Roma Tomatoes. For my egg mixture, I used 4 large eggs, 3/4 cup Heavy Cream, two cloves of minced garlic, nutmeg, salt, pepper, fresh basil and oregano from my herb garden. To bake, I layered the bottom of my pie shell with mozzarella cheese followed by the spinach mixture and then the egg mixture poured on top. Wooooooo, Buddy! This was the absolute best quiche I've ever made. It was an "Out of This World Meal" which earned me the prized and golden Stamp of Approval (SOA) from Mi Gato Loco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States