Transformed Spinach Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is a great recipe, with a nice mix of flavors. I do not have a 9" pie plate, so put it in a 10", but when I got the vegetable mix in it, I wondered how it would ever fit in a 9"! I Agree with the first review; I would fry the onions, mushrooms, and garlic, then wilt the spinach in with it before adding it to the pie plate. I made it exactly like the recipe, and it turned out ok, but I think it would be a little less likely for the cheese to brown and turn tough in the middle if it wasn't so heaped up so high with the raw veggies! It was completely out of the egg mixture for most of the cookiing time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mara2hope
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was a pretty good recipe, but head's up that you really need to cook the spinach before you put it in the quiche. They left that step out, which I figured out when I saw the massive amounts of spinach. One plus is the recipe conveniently is set up for making two - one to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Rust

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This gets 5 stars from me because I changed it based on the ingredients I had on hand, and it still was great! Here's the changes: 1 deep dish pie crust; 1 can spinach, drained and squeezed dry; 1 tsp. onion powder; 1 tsp. garlic powder; 1/2 tsp. seasoned salt; 1 1/2 c. shredded Mexican blend cheese; 1/2 c. Parmesan cheese...didn't layer anything; beat the eggs and mixed it all together...baked at 350 degrees for 1 hour and cooled for 1/2 hour. It turned out tasty and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
After sauteing a half of a red onion (Julienne cuts) and Baby Portobello mushrooms in Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO), I wilted some fresh Baby Spinach and added some Julienne cut Roma Tomatoes. For my egg mixture, I used 4 large eggs, 3/4 cup Heavy Cream, two cloves of minced garlic, nutmeg, salt, pepper, fresh basil and oregano from my herb garden. To bake, I layered the bottom of my pie shell with mozzarella cheese followed by the spinach mixture and then the egg mixture poured on top. Wooooooo, Buddy! This was the absolute best quiche I've ever made. It was an "Out of This World Meal" which earned me the prized and golden Stamp of Approval (SOA) from Mi Gato Loco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My husband and I like more flavor, so I added teaspoons of finely chopped oregano and some dried Italian seasoning for a little more kick. I only had goat's cheese, but that tasted amazing. I followed the instructions and came out with a very pie that sliced easily and stayed together, but tasted very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyoracle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Really great, precooked the mushrooms, onions and then wilted the baby spinach, but otherwise followed the recipe and it was really pretty easy to make. And with me dishing up the servings it lasted quite a bit longer as some of us need to watch our weight. The only problem is my dear hubby doesn't want anything else!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Made this last night and it was very good. I did add a yellow zucchini which I saute'd along with the other vegetables. There was a bit of juice at the bottom of the pie, which made the crust a little soggy, and this may have been because of the amount of veggies I added (that's why only 4 stars). My son enjoyed it, as did I. My husband won't eat quiche... :( Silly man doesn't know what he is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
very good recipe- I also precooked the vegetables until spinach wilted and added some green pepper-- mixed it into egg mixture- used 5 eggs and a little more milk - some paprika sprinkled on top- also used coby cheese and feta. I had a roma tomato and sliced thinly on top - perfect! The crust never turned soggy, we are trying not to eat meat, so this is a keeper for us and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
creamy and nutmeg is nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent! I left out the feta and added 4 strips of crumbled bacon. My family loved this quiche, I will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States