Transformed Spinach Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This was a pretty good recipe, but head's up that you really need to cook the spinach before you put it in the quiche. They left that step out, which I figured out when I saw the massive amounts of spinach. One plus is the recipe conveniently is set up for making two - one to freeze for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Rust

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is a great recipe, with a nice mix of flavors. I do not have a 9" pie plate, so put it in a 10", but when I got the vegetable mix in it, I wondered how it would ever fit in a 9"! I Agree with the first review; I would fry the onions, mushrooms, and garlic, then wilt the spinach in with it before adding it to the pie plate. I made it exactly like the recipe, and it turned out ok, but I think it would be a little less likely for the cheese to brown and turn tough in the middle if it wasn't so heaped up so high with the raw veggies! It was completely out of the egg mixture for most of the cookiing time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Overgaard
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
This gets 5 stars from me because I changed it based on the ingredients I had on hand, and it still was great! Here's the changes: 1 deep dish pie crust; 1 can spinach, drained and squeezed dry; 1 tsp. onion powder; 1 tsp. garlic powder; 1/2 tsp. seasoned salt; 1 1/2 c. shredded Mexican blend cheese; 1/2 c. Parmesan cheese...didn't layer anything; beat the eggs and mixed it all together...baked at 350 degrees for 1 hour and cooled for 1/2 hour. It turned out tasty and wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Excellent! I left out the feta and added 4 strips of crumbled bacon. My family loved this quiche, I will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
My husband and I like more flavor, so I added teaspoons of finely chopped oregano and some dried Italian seasoning for a little more kick. I only had goat's cheese, but that tasted amazing. I followed the instructions and came out with a very pie that sliced easily and stayed together, but tasted very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyoracle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Made this last night and it was very good. I did add a yellow zucchini which I saute'd along with the other vegetables. There was a bit of juice at the bottom of the pie, which made the crust a little soggy, and this may have been because of the amount of veggies I added (that's why only 4 stars). My son enjoyed it, as did I. My husband won't eat quiche... :( Silly man doesn't know what he is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Really great, precooked the mushrooms, onions and then wilted the baby spinach, but otherwise followed the recipe and it was really pretty easy to make. And with me dishing up the servings it lasted quite a bit longer as some of us need to watch our weight. The only problem is my dear hubby doesn't want anything else!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktr2567

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I am a first time quiche baker and I must admit it turned out really good! With this receipe and after reading all of the reviews, this is what I did; I used a deep dish pie crust which fits all the ingrediants perfectly. The only seasonings I used was veggie seasoning, italian seasoning and the nutmeg. All the veggies were fresh; I added fresh slices of tomatoes. Instead of swiss cheese, I used the shredded monteray jack cheese. I did coat the pie crust with egg white to help prevent the soggy crust. I used 5 eggs instead of 4. I let it bake for 40 mins with 400 degrees. My husband is a vegetarian and a picky eater. He said the dish was complex, but the flavors really blended well which made it really tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I sauteed the mushrooms, onions and wilted spinach first before adding to other ingredients. Used half/half instead of milk, and cut back on pepper. Watch the top so it doesn't burn. Worth making 2 so there's one to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is the second time I am making this quiche in the last week. I saute the veggies in ~1/4 c. butter and add my spices to the sauteed mix at the end (that way the spices don't clump in the egg/milk mixture). I also skip the swiss cheese because I never have any on hand. This time I am subbing swiss chard for spinach. My son LOVES this and begs me to make "egg pie." I've been using the Easy Pie Crust by: B1BMOM Edit: I use maybe 1/4 c. milk or cream because I always go heavy on the veggies. This last time I shouldn't have added any milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States