Transformed Spinach Mushroom Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Best Quiche I've ever tasted - and easy to make. I'm a bad cook, and I've done this several times without messing up. The cheese give it a fantastic flavor. I followed the recipe exactly. However I do have to squash the spinach and veg down about halfway through cooking to prevent it from burning. As long as it's covered in the egg mixture it's fine. Also I've found the edges of the crust need to be lower than the edge of the pie dish or they get too brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Fantastic! Didn't change a thing. It was a big hit on Mothers Day and it didn't make it past dinner that night. Everyone will love this, including the kids, just don't tell em there's spinach in it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
I used kale instead of spinach and it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Yummy recipe, but plan on baking it in two pans. I tried it in one and it overflowed everywhere. Of course, it didn't help that I forgot to add the cheese (a hanging offense in my house) and had to go back and stir it in after I added the egg. I, too, sauteed the onion, mushroom, and spinach before putting it in the pan. We aren't big feta cheese people, so I left it out and increased the salt by 1/4 tsp. Next time, I'm going to do it in 2 pans and add chopped black olives and some artichoke hearts. That's the beauty of quiches: you can add pretty much anything and it winds up tasting good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehouse Station, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bianchiveloce
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
After sauteing a half of a red onion (Julienne cuts) and Baby Portobello mushrooms in Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO), I wilted some fresh Baby Spinach and added some Julienne cut Roma Tomatoes. For my egg mixture, I used 4 large eggs, 3/4 cup Heavy Cream, two cloves of minced garlic, nutmeg, salt, pepper, fresh basil and oregano from my herb garden. To bake, I layered the bottom of my pie shell with mozzarella cheese followed by the spinach mixture and then the egg mixture poured on top. Wooooooo, Buddy! This was the absolute best quiche I've ever made. It was an "Out of This World Meal" which earned me the prized and golden Stamp of Approval (SOA) from Mi Gato Loco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bianchiveloce

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Liberty, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
very good recipe- I also precooked the vegetables until spinach wilted and added some green pepper-- mixed it into egg mixture- used 5 eggs and a little more milk - some paprika sprinkled on top- also used coby cheese and feta. I had a roma tomato and sliced thinly on top - perfect! The crust never turned soggy, we are trying not to eat meat, so this is a keeper for us and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
creamy and nutmeg is nice touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I cooked the spinach, mushrooms and onion ahead of time and this worked well. I only had a 8 inch pie plate, but it seemed there was an abundance of ingredients even if it had been a 9 inch. The flavor was fantastic. I'll be making it in a 9 inch deep dish pie pan for Christmas morning. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
10 stars! Oh wait, we can only give 5...5 then! Super easy and yummy! Healthy too which is great. Follow the recipe to the 'T' and you have a winner! : ) This actually would be good for kiddos b/c of the cheese and spinach is hidden muahaahaha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This is the second time I am making this quiche in the last week. I saute the veggies in ~1/4 c. butter and add my spices to the sauteed mix at the end (that way the spices don't clump in the egg/milk mixture). I also skip the swiss cheese because I never have any on hand. This time I am subbing swiss chard for spinach. My son LOVES this and begs me to make "egg pie." I've been using the Easy Pie Crust by: B1BMOM Edit: I use maybe 1/4 c. milk or cream because I always go heavy on the veggies. This last time I shouldn't have added any milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States