Trail Mix Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
WE MADE THESE LIKE A ZILLION TIMES THIS SUMMER! I WOULD MAKE THEM AND PUT THEM IN A SMALL COOLER AND LEAVE THEM IN THE CAR WHILE WE WERE AT THE WATER PARK, WHAT A HIT! NOW WE HAVE THEM FOR THE PARK,CAMPING,HIKING AND JUST ABOUT ANY OTHER REASON MY KIDS CAN THINK OF!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Really good! I put the cream cheese mixture on whole wheat baby bagels. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
These were a big hit with our family AND with the people we were camping with...Who thought it sounded so interesting, they had to give it a try. My husband is allergic to raw nuts, so instead of pre-made trail mix I chopped up dried apricots, some bittersweet chocolate chips, and threw in some sunflower seeds. I also used dried cranberries instead of raisins. These will become a staple for our family adventures. It is also great as a topping for crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah
Home Town: Repulse Bay, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I make this all the time when I need to eat breakfast in the car! I keep the cream cheese blend in the fridge, smear on toast, and instead of trail mix, use a blend of Total cereal (healthy but icky) dried fruit and whatever nuts I have around. Soooo good! I also blend unflavored protien powder into the cream cheese, makes this a power-packed breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I skip the lemon zest and use whole wheat bagels - and this recipes is great. While nothing you would find in a restuarant, we always take this camping or hiking with us. It is a great change from traditional sandwiches. I use trail mix with fruit. When we go camping I make the mix, store it in tupperware and keep it in the icebox until the day we are going to use it. Then I just spread it on the bagels. When we go hiking I wrap it good in saran wrap and foil. This sandwich doesn't get squished either in between the rest of our hiking stuff - so it is great for that reason too! Definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I've been making this for a while, very good combination of flavors and so easy to make! This is perfect for breakfast, lunch, or just a snack. I skipped the zest because I don't have a grater, but didn't change anything else. I used the trail mix with the m&m's in it and it turned out great, not too sweet, not too salty. I think next time I'll add some chopped dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This recipe was perfect for me. Not only did I have an excess of trail mix but I found a great sale on cream cheese at Grocery Outlet. I cut this in half for just my boys and I used my Pampered Chef hand chopper to get the trail mix and carrots chopped really fine. I did add a tbsp. of honey to make it a little easier to spread and to give it just a touch of sweetness. My kids loved it. I'd so make this again. I think I might make this into stuffed french toast next time! Imagine how good that would be! EDITED: Yes. This makes good stuffed french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I was expecting the rasins not to taste good with everthing else, but they actually tasted good with everything else. I didn't have any lemon zest or juice in the house, but it seemed completely fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Pretty good for a quick lunch. I scaled the recipe down to one, as it was just me. I found that my sandwich tasted a lot better after it sat in the fridge for a couple of hours. I might make again if I had the ingredients on hand, but I wouldn't go out of my way to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyRJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I didn't have trail mix on hand so I used some leftover nuts from christmas (cashews, almonds, honey roasted peanuts). When I first tried this I thought something was missing, I double checked the recipe and found I forgot the lemon juice! The lemon juice makes everything come together, it tasted a million times better after I added the lemon. I didn't use the full 8oz of cream cheese, I used maybe 5-6oz and thought it was just enough. I also finely grated my carrot but next time ill use a bigger grater because I think bigger shreds of the carrots would have been better. I don't know if ill make this all the time but I will make it again! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States