Trail Mix Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I make this all the time when I need to eat breakfast in the car! I keep the cream cheese blend in the fridge, smear on toast, and instead of trail mix, use a blend of Total cereal (healthy but icky) dried fruit and whatever nuts I have around. Soooo good! I also blend unflavored protien powder into the cream cheese, makes this a power-packed breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This recipe was perfect for me. Not only did I have an excess of trail mix but I found a great sale on cream cheese at Grocery Outlet. I cut this in half for just my boys and I used my Pampered Chef hand chopper to get the trail mix and carrots chopped really fine. I did add a tbsp. of honey to make it a little easier to spread and to give it just a touch of sweetness. My kids loved it. I'd so make this again. I think I might make this into stuffed french toast next time! Imagine how good that would be! EDITED: Yes. This makes good stuffed french toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
WE MADE THESE LIKE A ZILLION TIMES THIS SUMMER! I WOULD MAKE THEM AND PUT THEM IN A SMALL COOLER AND LEAVE THEM IN THE CAR WHILE WE WERE AT THE WATER PARK, WHAT A HIT! NOW WE HAVE THEM FOR THE PARK,CAMPING,HIKING AND JUST ABOUT ANY OTHER REASON MY KIDS CAN THINK OF!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Piratefrog
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I scaled down the recipe for one and followed it as is except adding the lemon zest, but did add some cinnamon and fiber one cereal. This recipe was made for "going on adventures", but my adventure was only to the kitchen, so I ended up toasting it. This helped warm the cream cheese. Because of the added cinnamon, this sandwich reminded me of eating a Cinnamon raisin bagel. You don't really taste the lemon juice or carrots, but they help give an extra crunch. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piratefrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Yummers! I liked the flavor of the carrots with everything else. Quite satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I skip the lemon zest and use whole wheat bagels - and this recipes is great. While nothing you would find in a restuarant, we always take this camping or hiking with us. It is a great change from traditional sandwiches. I use trail mix with fruit. When we go camping I make the mix, store it in tupperware and keep it in the icebox until the day we are going to use it. Then I just spread it on the bagels. When we go hiking I wrap it good in saran wrap and foil. This sandwich doesn't get squished either in between the rest of our hiking stuff - so it is great for that reason too! Definitely give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Really good! I put the cream cheese mixture on whole wheat baby bagels. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefspecialty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I didn't have trail mix on hand so I used some leftover nuts from christmas (cashews, almonds, honey roasted peanuts). When I first tried this I thought something was missing, I double checked the recipe and found I forgot the lemon juice! The lemon juice makes everything come together, it tasted a million times better after I added the lemon. I didn't use the full 8oz of cream cheese, I used maybe 5-6oz and thought it was just enough. I also finely grated my carrot but next time ill use a bigger grater because I think bigger shreds of the carrots would have been better. I don't know if ill make this all the time but I will make it again! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
The flavor in this recipe was good, but neither I nor my husband could eat more than half a sandwich. The cream cheese flavor is very strong and very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
The cream cheese was a bit much for me, but my husband liked these pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOSHKARENWOLFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States