Trail Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great recipe. I don't normally make changes, but these seem to be open for experiment. I used half wheat flour and half white. I tried diced apples, added more cinnamon, and used almonds. I'm going to make it again this evening using raisins, walnuts and milk chocolate chips. This will be my 3rd batch and my 3rd experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Awesome healthy cookies! These are definitely a perfect base for an "everything" cookie. These are the changes I made - partly out of necessity and partly because I am health-conscious! - I used unsweetened applesauce - Heaping 1/2 cup brown sugar only (omitted white). - 1 whole egg and 1/2 of a banana mashed - handful of sesame seeds - 1/4 cup walnuts and 1/4 sunflower seeds - 1/2 cup white and milk chocolate chips (no craisins or raisins on hand). - whole wheat flour Because I improvised a bit, I ended up having an overly sticky dough at the end so added an extra 1/4 cup of flour. I made the cookies quite large (1 1/2 dozen) and so baked them for 10 minutes. Perfect! The result is a very yummy and pretty healthy cookie - one I don't feel bad about allowing my two year old to have. Next time, I may cut the brown sugar back again to just 1/2 cup... and keep the rest of my changes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
These turned out great. I beat the egg whites but also added the yolks to the sugar/applesauce mix (couldn't throw them away...). Other than that I followed the recipe with the addition of 1/4 cup flour to counter for the extra egg yolks. Baked for 10 minutes. They came out soft and delicious. I might try a little less white sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
kids loved them great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Hubby & I enjoyed these, not sure how my kids are going to like them. They are not very sweet & tend to be a little cakey if you bake them a tad too long. Pull them out before they start to brown and let them sit 3-5 min on cookie sheet to firm up. I doubled the recipe, but did not add quite all the flour or oats as the dough seemed stiff enough. I'm glad I did because of the previously mentioned tendency to dryness. I will make these again for Hubby & I as we need some "Healthy" treats and good recipes are few and far between!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
great! my 2 year old has decided lately that she doesnt want to eat anything so i made these, added a half cup of milled flaxseed and she loves them because they are cookies! my husband eats them too! little do they know they are healthy... bwahahaha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
delicious! easy to make! i used oil instead of applesauce and i also used whole eggs. left out walnuts bc of allergies. so delicious warm out of the oven! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Great recipe....like that it does not use butter. Probably add more chocolate chips then I should, but use bittersweet. Sent them to Afghanistan to be shared, they made the trip and were a hit! Thank-you dancer7889
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwcaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Oro Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These are very good! I'm a health nut and am always looking for healthy alternatives to cookies and these are it! I didn't add quite as many chocolate chips though and they were really good. I did find that for my first batch 10 minutes was too long because they got a little dried out, but 9 minutes was perfect. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Dixie'sMom
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very good. Followed the recipe to a tee, only used raisins rather than the cranberries. I only got 20 cookies out of this recipe since I decided to make a larger cookie. Also, I flattened them slightly with a fork and unbaked so they would be chewy. Definitely a keeper, with so many possible variations. Thanks, dancer7889!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States