Trail Mix Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Tastes OK. Has a strange texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Bravo to a healthier alternative cookie, and I'm pleased with how nicely these turned out. Since it's easy to vary what ingredients you've got on hand (or just personal preferences), here's how I tweaked them: 3/4 c brown sugar and a healthy squeeze of two of honey. I added a few tablespoons of peanut butter just because I like it (and wanted a little extra protein since I intend to eat these as a "grab and go" breakfast cookie). I used a whole egg and subbed 1 tsp baking powder instead, desiring a puffier, cake-like cookie. Not measuring, I tossed in some pomegranate craisins, grape nuts, and chocolate chunks (would've used the mini morsels, but I was out). I didn't have pecans, which I'll add toasted next time, nor did I have sunflower seeds, which I adore in anything trail mix-y. Overall, these were a cinch to throw together, baked up exactly how I imagined, and I can't wait to experiment further with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Excellent! I baked for 11 minutes. Used pecans instead of walnuts. These are as good as any full fat cookies I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I made these in a cabin at 10,000 feet with no mixer to beat egg whites, so I used a whole egg. I had no chips, but I did have trail mix with an assortment of nuts & chips, also craisins & raisins , so I threw in a cup of that. The first sheet was cooked on an aluminum cookie sheet...they did not cook fully on the bottom. I used a baking sheet for the others...they were less gooey. Next time I will use more flour to try to remedy this. The flour I used was for high altitude baking. My husband loved these... and he is not the cookie monster I am. I will also try this at home as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
These were enjoyable, don't make if your expecting a regular, sugary cookie, but they make a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
These taste awesome! They combine applesauce, cinnamon, chocolate, craisins and oats wonderfully. I omitted the walnuts, and the batter made 34 cookies. I just couldn't get the egg whites to mix in with the applesauce mixture at first, but they mixed in well later. Everyone loved them, they're my new favorite healthy cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
a tasty healthier take on a usually fat and sugar packed cookie... I think you can throw what ever you want in these for texture (different nuts or seeds) and flavor (vanilla chips or other dried fruit)... the only problem i had with mine is they seemed to have a rather chewy texture... this could have been because I put them in a container too soon or perhaps didn't bake them long enough... but once you got past the texture these were pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Healthy AND delish. Who woulda thunk? I added a little more chocolate because, why not? Great road food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
These were pretty good. I only used 1/2 cup brown sugar and added 1 banana. Definitely a good alternative to normal sugar filled cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This dough raw is good. Even better baked. The first cookies I ever ate without butter. And it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States