Trail Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
I liked it a lot but I also changed it a bit. First I used only 1/2 C. butter instead of 1 C.. I prefer less fat. I misread the instructions and didn't add the oats to the honey-butter mix as I was supposed to, which turned out fine. Maybe even better?!? I simply added the oats to all the other ingredients. To save more sugar and fat I skipped the chocolate. I wasn't sure about the second portion of honey either, so I simply added only 1/4 C. as stated in the instructions. The dried fruits I used were sweet too and I used more of it. You can always add a chocolate coating later on if it's not sweet enough for you with less honey. My other changes: I used almonds plus 1 C. raw pepitas instead of chocolate. 1 C. dates, coconut and apricots instead of a half cup of each, plus 1 Cup cranberries and a handfull plums. Turned out fine. Next time I will add some pumkin spice or allspice. The flavor developes more when the bars a kept in an airtight container for 1-2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
We have fixed this recipe to correct the amount of honey listed in the ingredients. The second time honey is used, it is only 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I made this recipe a week ago and wanted to wait to post my review for a few reasons.. The night I made these I felt the instructions and recipe were not detailed enough (and still feel that way). TO start with.. a stick of butter? Try using 1/2 and add apple sauce if needed. Also use a floured rolling pin to thin out the crust! The crust came out more like a cookie, but was well liked. Second layer.. Eggs... no mention of what size, I used 2 of what I had in the fridge, XL. Not only did I have lots of egg batter swimming around on the top of the crust but the fruit and nuts had a faint taste of egg which really turned me off (and that was even after adding cinnamon to the mixture). That being said.. A few days after sitting in the fridge the egg taste is gone and the bars are a great snack or breakfast option. Even my bf liked them! The good of the second layer is you can make it as healthy as you want it. I added all kinds of fruits and nuts and skipped out on the chocolate chips. I also used sugar free honey (which is sweetened with malitol) that being the case, next time I make them I'll set the oven to 325 so the fruits dont brown in the corners of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was great! I made my own substitutions (used raisens instead of choc. chips, and part raisens/part sunflower seeds instead of apricots, also used a mix of almonds/pecans/walnuts instead of just almonds). I cooked it for 30 minutes without checking it & I was worried because it looked very dark on the edges (burnt I thought), but when I tasted it - it was great! It had a definite toasted honey/oatmeal flavor (which I loved!) I thought these might be like granola bars, but they are more like the texture of a bar cookie. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I have substituted other dried fruit for the cranberries or half and half. I wrap indivdually great for camping trips and school
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I love these. I changed some of the dried fruits to use what I had in the larder , namely raisins and Cranberries and asst other fruits. I substituted half the honey for Malt extract, again because it was what I had in the larder but I've been a big fan of malt extract since I was a kid.. just ensure its NOT the Malt extract with added cod liver oil :-& I left out the chocolate chips inthe actual bars but melted some shocolate afterwards and dipped them base first to give them a chocolate coated bottom (perhaps not the healthiest option but delicious!) Yummy yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This recipes is geat! We love it! We normally use what ever dried fruit we have on hand, and also like them even without the chocolate chips. This is one of my favorite cookie bars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Del Sisters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Alot of butter, but fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I followed this recipe as written, except using a mixture of almonds and walnuts since I did not have enough almonds, and leaving out the wheat germ as I did not have any in the house. The top of these bars were yummy, the base was fine, but my bars just wouldn't stay together. I even tried refrigerating them per another review to try to help with this problem, and about half of the bars simply split into two separate layers when I cut them. I was disappointed. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
It was a good somewhat healthy snack. The extras I added were dried bluberries, dried fruit, raisins, coconut, pecans, wheat germ. I liked them all but the dried fruit. Although the dried bluberries were good in it. My family did not rave about it, but when we went hiking my 7 years old son liked it well enough. I bagged them in snack bags individually and stored them in the refrigerator for the lunchbox. They seemed to stay together better after I refrigerated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ostrowski-Callen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States