Trail Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
I liked it a lot but I also changed it a bit. First I used only 1/2 C. butter instead of 1 C.. I prefer less fat. I misread the instructions and didn't add the oats to the honey-butter mix as I was supposed to, which turned out fine. Maybe even better?!? I simply added the oats to all the other ingredients. To save more sugar and fat I skipped the chocolate. I wasn't sure about the second portion of honey either, so I simply added only 1/4 C. as stated in the instructions. The dried fruits I used were sweet too and I used more of it. You can always add a chocolate coating later on if it's not sweet enough for you with less honey. My other changes: I used almonds plus 1 C. raw pepitas instead of chocolate. 1 C. dates, coconut and apricots instead of a half cup of each, plus 1 Cup cranberries and a handfull plums. Turned out fine. Next time I will add some pumkin spice or allspice. The flavor developes more when the bars a kept in an airtight container for 1-2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
We have fixed this recipe to correct the amount of honey listed in the ingredients. The second time honey is used, it is only 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I thought this recipe was very good! Excellent to pack for hiking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
These bars are absolutly wonderful. Great for snacks on long car rides or just going for a walk. Super addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I have substituted other dried fruit for the cranberries or half and half. I wrap indivdually great for camping trips and school
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I vegan-ized and reduced the fat in these. I used 1/2 C 'Buttery Sticks' and 1/2 C applesauce, and replaced the honey with maple syrup (I'm going to try agave nectar next time). I omitted the chocolate chips and used a little more dried fruit. I replaced the 2 eggs with 2 Tb. flax meal + 6 Tb. water. The bottom was very dense but that is probably due to my alterations. I will definitely be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
I love these. I changed some of the dried fruits to use what I had in the larder , namely raisins and Cranberries and asst other fruits. I substituted half the honey for Malt extract, again because it was what I had in the larder but I've been a big fan of malt extract since I was a kid.. just ensure its NOT the Malt extract with added cod liver oil :-& I left out the chocolate chips inthe actual bars but melted some shocolate afterwards and dipped them base first to give them a chocolate coated bottom (perhaps not the healthiest option but delicious!) Yummy yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This was great! I made my own substitutions (used raisens instead of choc. chips, and part raisens/part sunflower seeds instead of apricots, also used a mix of almonds/pecans/walnuts instead of just almonds). I cooked it for 30 minutes without checking it & I was worried because it looked very dark on the edges (burnt I thought), but when I tasted it - it was great! It had a definite toasted honey/oatmeal flavor (which I loved!) I thought these might be like granola bars, but they are more like the texture of a bar cookie. Delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Alot of butter, but fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
It was a good somewhat healthy snack. The extras I added were dried bluberries, dried fruit, raisins, coconut, pecans, wheat germ. I liked them all but the dried fruit. Although the dried bluberries were good in it. My family did not rave about it, but when we went hiking my 7 years old son liked it well enough. I bagged them in snack bags individually and stored them in the refrigerator for the lunchbox. They seemed to stay together better after I refrigerated them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Ostrowski-Callen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States