Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I absolutely LOVE this bread recipe. I found it a year ago and never used another one since. I personally like to take the bread out 5 minutes before and brush melted butter on the top and let it finish the lasr 5 minutes of cooking. Thanks for this wonderful bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
This bread turned out wonderfully! Not too fluffy, but a nice, soft, tasty bread. I no longer buy my bread from the store, I use this instead! I substituted margarine for the lard, and it's still great! It doesn't get stale too quickly either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I made rolls with this recipe instead of bread. It was a big hit at our Thanksgiving Dinner. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is absolutely terrific! The bread came out light and fluffy and very tasty. I did reduce the amount of salt - put in about 2 tsp instead of 1 Tbsp. I liked this way more than the 'popular' white bread on this same site. This is what homemade bread should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I cut this recipe in half and let my bread machine to the work thru the 2nd rise. Then took it out and formed dinner rolls for tonight's dinner. Excellent recipe. Just bake dinner rolls for 20 minutes at 375 degrees!Thanks Danialle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
If you have never made bread in your life before, this is the recipe for you; very easy and bread turns out fantastic. This will be a new "family recipe" for our family. thanks for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Good bread with a lot of substance. It would be great to use this with homegrown tomatoes as it will hold up nicely. I used my kitchen aid with the dough hook & it was a breeze to make, a keeper for me. Thanks Danialle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
This is the best and easiest recipe I have ever found for a delicious, light white bread. I also substituted soft margarine for the lard and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I found this bread to be fantastic. It's the first one I've made that has turned out properly. Not too sweet like many of the recipes are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
This is the first time that a bread recipe worked for me. The bread taste great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States