Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was my first attempt at baking bread and it turned out perfect!! I did use less salt and 1/2 a stick of butter instead of lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe - very light and fluffy! I was able to get a huge loaf plus one shaped more like an italian loaf as well as a pizza out of this recipe - it could easily be halved. I used vegetable shortening and all purpose flour - came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
excellent traditional recipe. THE HARDEST PART IS TAPPING IT ON THE BOTTOM TO SEE IF IT IS HOLLOW SOUNDING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I'll have to try this recipe again and hopefully be able to give it five stars next time. I'm sure it's something I did on my end, but this bread turned out dense with a lumpy top. the dough itself seemed somewhat dry initially to the point I added a bit more water. I'm not sure if I accidentally added too much flour or if I didn't kneed long enough. I'm not an experienced bread maker, but this recipe seemed so easy and fool proof. My daughter, who loves plane white bread, said it had no flavor. I'm not sure if a bit more sugar is necessary. I didn't mind the denseness, and actually enjoyed the crunchy crust, but it wasn't at all light and fluffy on the inside for me the first time. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacySnook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is a good recipe, but following it exactly makes really dense bread. Here are the changes I made to make it nice and fluffy. I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour (AP flour has less protein and makes helps make it fluffy). I also use Highly active yeast instead of regular yeast. I proof the yeast before making the bread. To proof the yeast dissolve it in warm water(120-130 degrees F) with the sugar and let sit for about 10 min until a froth forms on top, then proceed with the recipe. I too used crisco shortening instead of lard(mostly because its what I had). I have a convection oven so when baking I preheat the oven to 350 Degrees F convection bake and bake for 30 min. I hope this is helpful to others using this recipe. (I do plan to try using honey instead of sugar in the future when i make it again ill let you know how it works)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samnrflt
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Great bread recipe! Be sure to not leave it in for too long! :) the butter substitute for lard worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Very good. I only kneaded the dough for 3 minutes as I'm lazy. Turned out amazing anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Never made bread before and this recipe turns out every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Absolutely love this recipe!!!! It is so easy and the bread turns out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I love this bread recipe! I use vegetable oil instead of the lard. It's delicious- everyone loves it. I let it rise three times and it's light and fluffy and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States