Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I baked a loaf of this bread, this evening. The crust was crispy, and the inside was dense and soft. I halved the recipe, except for the lard/butter, which I left at 3 T. Before baking, I split the top and poured a tablespoon of butter inside the split. Baked for 30 minutes, and the bread came out perfect. This will be my go to recipe for white bread from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I love this recipe for it's ease and taste. The whole family loves it. As being a vegetarian, I did substitute the lard with extra virgin coconut oil. The consistency remained and gives it a nice twist to normality :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I loved this recipe. I replaced the lard with coconut oil. I didn't have bread flour and use King Arthur all purpose flour and it came out wonderful. For anyone having problems with stickiness if you're live in an area with high humidity you'll have to adjust your flour/water. The 8 minute kneading is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Very good! I melted butter, infused it with a touch of truffle oil and course salt, five minutes before it was done I brushed it with the butter mixture and grated some great dry sheep cheese on top. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Amazing, perfect recipe! It raised well, cooked perfectly, and tasted wonderful, all according to the specifications of the recipe, substituting corn oil for the lard. This will become a weekly practice for me. If you save a loaf for the following day, it is more manageable for slicing thinly. On the first day, it's so soft and spongy that the slices come out thicker, still, oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Easy! Turned out perfectly the first time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love this recipe! Very easy! I did do a few things different, only because I like to experiment. I bloomed the yeast separately using some whey water from some ricotta cheese I made earlier. I heated up the whey water, took 1 TBSP of the sugar and the yeast and mixed together until the yeast was foamy. Then I mixed using a dough hook in the mixer, and let the dough rise. No problems at all. The dough rose very high, I punched down and divided into 2 loaves. The smell is awesome!! Baked off like nobodies bizness! Absolutely delicious and easy. This is a winner hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I got a kitchenaid for Christmas, and had been trying to bake a decent loaf of bread for a month! Living in LA with its dry climate, along with my inexperience, has given me hard, dense loaves...thanks for the foolproof recipe, because it's exactly what I was looking for. If you follow the directions, you literally cannot mess this up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingconner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurensomagical
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I live in the high desert, so maybe the dough seemed a bit drier at 5 cups and that's where I stopped incorporating the flour. So in my experience, we went and used 5 cups of flour altogether. We ended up with 2 beautiful loaves of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States