Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This bread turned out perfect!!! Great texture, taste, although I did reduce the salt to 2 t. as recommended by other reviewers. Just make certain that after you preheat the oven at 425 to turn in down to 375 when you put your loaves in or you just might be very disappointed with your results. This is a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim Thornton Kleckner
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Wonderful Bread but I did change just a few things. Used butter flavored Crisco instead of lard,1 tsp salt and brushed with an egg white wash just before baking. It seemed a little too crusty so I brushed butter over it for the last 10 minutes. This is my new Goto bread recipe! See picture I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
One of the best bread recipes around. Never had a bad loaf yet! We eat one loaf, use the second for homemade french toast! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Wonderful recipe taste exactly like my mothers. No need to look further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margie
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
VERY GOOD and I have made a lot of bread.. taste is great and the texture is great light but sturdy .. awesome bread.. love it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackshear, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Baked this bread yesterday. Very good. The only difference was I used Crisco and all purpose flour. 6 cups flour was plenty for the dough and dusting the surface for kneading. Baked at 375 30 minutes. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Wow. Just perfect, the bread is light and on the inside, golden brown and crispy on the inside. Havfluffy ing some experience making pizza dough, I let the yeast in the water with the sugar for 10 minutes. Use your hands to make this bread, as it's the best way to incorporate the flour. It only took 30 minutes and it was ready. I cut a slice right after I took it out of the oven and it was amazing, can't wait to make sandwiches using this bread. EDIT: After making it for a third time, I discovered some tricks. First, only put in 6 cups of flour not 6 and a half. Use an electric mixer with dough hooks when mixing in the ingredients, you then only need to knead the dough 5 minutes. 25 minutes in the oven is enough, my 3rd attempt was the most soft and delicious yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boris A. Bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EllenGrace Francke
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The loafs just came out and my husband and I ate half a loaf already with just butter on it. Oh my goodness! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Wicked recipe and not at all hard to make thanks Danialle :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States