Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
OMG This tasted just like bread I would buy from a professional bakery, except warm and just out of the oven! The (slight) changes I made: Only made half of this recipe, used "sugar in the raw" instead of white sugar, used cisco shortening instead of lard, made rolls instead of loaves so i only had to bake for 20 min. Texture and taste wow! Everything was spot on. Who knew bread was so simple to make? The only change I'll make next time is to use butter instead of shortening. It actually tasted too much like professional bread and i want to give it that homestyle buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Poirier
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
So easy to make , my second time making bread and it was easy to follow and it tastes amazing , not gonna buy store bread as much now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Poirier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I have a KitchenAid with a dough hook. I basically used this recipe except I substituted 1/2 cup milk for 1/2 cup of the water, and used butter instead of lard. I used 2 Tbsp of dry yeast, and put the yeast and sugar in the mixing bowl. Then put the milk, water and butter in a large measuring cup and heated in the microwave for 2 min, and added that to the mixing bowl with the salt. Then I added 5 cups of flour, 1/2 cup at a time until well mixed. Then I replaced the mixer beater with the dough hook and added the final flour a little at a time until it reached the right consistency. Once the dough hook finished its job and the dough was one smooth ball with little residue on the side of the bowl, I covered it and let it rise, shaped into loaves for second rise, then baked at 375 for 30 min. It is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Turner Granat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dairy Princess
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
The bread turned out quite tasty. In fact I think the two of us ate half of it before it had time to cool. I used my stand up kitchen aid mixer with the bread hook after stirring in the first two cups of flour. I recommend using the proof setting on your oven if you have one. But be careful when you take the towel off the loaves in the pan, after the second rise. I lost some height As the pans were too close together and when I separated them, they fell a bit. Oh I did reduce the salt by half after readin other peoples post. The recipe was easy enough to make.I have to give it four stars though because there seems to be a step missing, I didn't understand how long the bread should bake at 425? Or do i just turn the oven down when i put the loaves in? This was confusing to me since I have never made this type of bread before. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This bread was sooooo easy and yummy! Way better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Howze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
great recipe! I used unsalted butter instead of lard and also used a whole wheat and bread flour mixture. I put it all in my kitchen aid mixer with my bread hook. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Great easy recipe. I'm not sure if
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Icyblue52
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I found the bread to taste too yeasty and even after through baking all the bread inside (not the outer crust) was too soft and doughy. I think if I try again I will add less water and yeast. I also added less salt than what the recipe called for due to the many comments saying the 1 tablespoon was too much so I changed it to 3/4 of a tablespoon instead. Next time I will do half a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Yummy. Good texture and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Tried several other recipes before this one and this one by far was the best.....not buying bread at store ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States