Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great tasting, easy and basic white bread. I substitute local honey for the sugar, and veggie or coconut oil for lard. Makes great sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! This was my first time making bread without a bread machine and it turned out lovely! I covered the bread with aluminum foil as it baked so the top wouldn't brown too much. I removed the foil for the last 7 minutes and brushed the top with melted butter. The bread came out crusty and flaky on the outside with exactly the right density on the inside (light without being too light and just dense enough to be perfect). I used the recipe exactly as it stated but I halved it because I only wanted to make a single loaf. The bread was a HUGE hit in the house. I served it with our dinner and between my husband, my 5 year old daughter and myself, we ate almost the entire loaf with only 2 slices leftover. They are already begging me to make another loaf! I saw a few reviews saying they cut the salt down. Honestly, you don't need to. The bread wasn't at all salty. It was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I like the flavor of this recipe and I followed it precisely but just from reading it wondered about adding the salt with the yeast. Everything I've ever learned has told me doing that kills the yeast. As I thought it may do...my loaves didn't rise as I thought they should. Next time I will add the salt in with the flour when mixing that in and see how things go. Other than that, I liked the flavor and it wasn't too time consuming. Also...this recipe states to preheat the oven to 425...but doesn't state if you bake at that temp for any amount of time, it only says to bake at 375. So...are you supposed to simply have the oven at that temp when you begin baking and turn it down...or what? That step is very unclear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I've been making this bread for a while now and I've found it very easy and foolproof. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
My first bread recipe, and it was fantastic! Light, fluffy, with great texture and taste, and very very easy to make. I substituted olive oil for lard, as that's what I had in the house. Please note, if you're using your new Kitchenaid mixer, this is a double batch and can be too much of a strain on your machine, as I found out the hard way! Once my mixer was repaired and ready to go again, I halved the recipe and gave it another shot. The bread is perfect! I can't wait to try this with variations such as cinnamon, garlic, fresh herbs, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I tried this recipe because I wanted french toast and didn't have any bread in the house. I think it's amazing. I never use lard I always either use butter or oil and I think that it turns out pretty great. It holds up to making casseroles and french toast upon other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I have not tried this yet but I'm getting ready to...I have a question I hope someone who has made this already might see and answer. Instruction #4 says to preheat oven to 425, instruction #5 says to bake at 375. Do you preheat at 425 and then turn it down to 375 when you put the dough in the oven? That's what I'm going to go do anyway, I hope it works. Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This recipe always turns out great. I never use a bread machine and it still comes out perfectly. It is also a great base bread to add other fun ingredients too like cheese, brown sugar cinnamon, or chocolate chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I made it with all whole wheat flour........too good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
NEED MORE STARS! This recipe lived up to the hype. Great crust, amazing crumb, nice flavour. I substituted 2 cups multigrain bread flour and used butter instead of lard, also cut the salt in half. I used my KitchenAid Artisan and after initial mixing, kneaded for 4 minutes on speed 2. Baked for 35 minutes to an internal temp of 200F. Perfect loaf (it was loaves, but one is already gone). Thanks for this go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States