Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
this is a great bread but I have added 3 eggs to help fluff it up it is sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scot Downes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I love this recipe! The first time I mixed it by hand, but the second time, I used my Kitchen-Aid stand mixer with my dough hook and turned out great, if not better. The only thing I did different was use salted butter instead of the lard. We don't buy bread anymore. Oh, and to store the bread we use tall plastic containers, but, metal would would great too. If you have never made bread before I'd go to this website to know how to put it in the pans, it helped me: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/videos/bread-101-basic-white-bread-shaping-and-baking-the-loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oakrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Easy recipe. Turned out with the texture I was hoping for. Because my bread tins seem to be a bit under 9x5, I made 5 rolls as well with the dough, and baked those in muffin tins. I used butter in place of lard. Both rolls and bread loaves took about 20 minutes for me. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
this came out perfect, first time I made bread and it was great, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Yes I tried this recipe for the first time today. My two loaves came out very well. I am very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magikat
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It hardly seems worth it to add another 5-star review to this recipe, but I'm going to anyway! I've been baking all our bread for about a year now and searching for a good basic bread for sandwiches, toast, with eggs or peanut butter. This is it. I substituted 3 cups of the flour with whole wheat bread flour and added 1/4 cup gluten. Such a simple recipe, bakes up beautifully. A little chew to the crust and nice and soft inside.I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Excellent, excellent recipe! I don't buy bread anymore. I don't change a thing to the recipe, perfect in every way. If you want, you can put cheese or herbs on top. A 5 lbs. bag of bread flour should make you about 5 loaves. I make everything at once and freeze what I don't use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My daughter (10 yrs old) and I (dad) made this, it was our first attempt at baking bread. The bread rose perfectly. We were thrilled and it tastes delicious. We are hooked and will be making this bread often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is my favorite bread recipe ever! It's really delicious and versatile. I use butter instead of lard and use my bread machine to mix the dough. Then I bake it in pans or shape it into braids, dinner rolls, etc. I also sometimes add seasonings (such as thyme, rosemary, and marjoram). Great for sandwiches and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Buttons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
It came out as described. I made one loaf. I might have measured incorrectly as the water was too much for the flour. I added flour while kneading with the stand mixer, but I used whole wheat flour for that. This is the best loaf that I ever made, and I have been making bread for decades. For the rising segment, I rub softened Crisco on the loaf to keep it from getting hard in spots, something I hate. I let it rise in the oven after I turned it on and off and used a damp towel over it. I put a pan of hot water in the oven. It worked well. I used instant rise yeast and followed the instructions for that, which shortened the first rise. I used good butter rather than lard. I think I'll stick with this recipe rather than search further. Also, I cut down the salt to one tsp as the recommended amount seemed excessive, and other reviewers had commented about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States