Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I substituted butter for the lard, and halved the recipe to make only one loaf. It turned out very nicely--a soft and fluffy traditional white bread, which is perfect for sandwiches. This is a very easy bread to make, and would recommend it to anyone who isn't experienced in bread baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Humbert Humbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This is beautiful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I used butter instead of lard and followed the rest to a tee. I ended up with two beautiful loaves and will definitely use this recipe again! Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
My 10-year-old wanted to make bread. We did a quick search and he chose this recipe. I didn't help him at all! He did it all by himself, just like he wanted, and it turned out perfect! :D I'm quite proud. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Fantastic! Tonight's the first time in my life I ever tried to make bread, and this came out perfectly. My wife was actually on her way to bed when I asked her to try it; she ended up eating 3 slices with butter and jam. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Elizabeth Clinton
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Added pepper and garlic...turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Turned out perfect using my bread machine, 2 lb loaf on quick setting odds 2 hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Excellent Bread. It's just like the bread I remember my grandmother making...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Mastran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Super good bread; light inside and crispy outside. HOWEVER, I have never used a tablespoon of salt...I use a mounded teaspoon and it's plenty. I also brush the top with melted butter. Very easy recipe, and pretty quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I tried it and it didn't come out the way I expected. The crust was great but the centre was a bit raw. I don't know what I did wrong, I did everything recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sterling G. Joseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 503) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States