Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dairy Princess
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
The bread turned out quite tasty. In fact I think the two of us ate half of it before it had time to cool. I used my stand up kitchen aid mixer with the bread hook after stirring in the first two cups of flour. I recommend using the proof setting on your oven if you have one. But be careful when you take the towel off the loaves in the pan, after the second rise. I lost some height As the pans were too close together and when I separated them, they fell a bit. Oh I did reduce the salt by half after readin other peoples post. The recipe was easy enough to make.I have to give it four stars though because there seems to be a step missing, I didn't understand how long the bread should bake at 425? Or do i just turn the oven down when i put the loaves in? This was confusing to me since I have never made this type of bread before. Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be trying this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
This bread was sooooo easy and yummy! Way better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Howze

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
great recipe! I used unsalted butter instead of lard and also used a whole wheat and bread flour mixture. I put it all in my kitchen aid mixer with my bread hook. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Great easy recipe. I'm not sure if
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Icyblue52
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I found the bread to taste too yeasty and even after through baking all the bread inside (not the outer crust) was too soft and doughy. I think if I try again I will add less water and yeast. I also added less salt than what the recipe called for due to the many comments saying the 1 tablespoon was too much so I changed it to 3/4 of a tablespoon instead. Next time I will do half a tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Yummy. Good texture and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Tried several other recipes before this one and this one by far was the best.....not buying bread at store ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
The bread came out very good texture-wise. I used kosher salt in hopes that it wouldn't be too salty, but it turns out needed more salt. I should have used regular salt. I did use the amount of salt the recipe calls for. And the amount of flour used depends on the humidity in your kitchen. You might need more or less than what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Gonzales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I love it the bread is great. It is even better when you toast it and put a little butter on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Just made this recipe and was somewhat disappointed. 1st rise was perfect, second rise was also perfect like it should be. My problem is that it never rose any higher when baked. I had a loaf of bread that was no higher than the pan. The bread tasted great but the crumb was firm and heavy. Will try it again, I just wish I knew what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Keehn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 534) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States