Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Excellent Bread. It's just like the bread I remember my grandmother making...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Mastran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Super good bread; light inside and crispy outside. HOWEVER, I have never used a tablespoon of salt...I use a mounded teaspoon and it's plenty. I also brush the top with melted butter. Very easy recipe, and pretty quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I tried it and it didn't come out the way I expected. The crust was great but the centre was a bit raw. I don't know what I did wrong, I did everything recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sterling G. Joseph

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This is an easy recipe. It will give you a nice crust and fluffy center. I find that letting it rise for two hours instead of one works better. The video was a big help for this beginner, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Loved this recipe! It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I have made this several times. It is easy and comes out light and delicious. I use my kitchen Aide mixer and it is so easy. I bake on a stone baking sheet. Maybe that's why it is so good. Sometimes I add spices like rosemary or dill. It keeps for several days too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharnita
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! It is well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
this is a great bread but I have added 3 eggs to help fluff it up it is sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scot Downes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I love this recipe! The first time I mixed it by hand, but the second time, I used my Kitchen-Aid stand mixer with my dough hook and turned out great, if not better. The only thing I did different was use salted butter instead of the lard. We don't buy bread anymore. Oh, and to store the bread we use tall plastic containers, but, metal would would great too. If you have never made bread before I'd go to this website to know how to put it in the pans, it helped me: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/videos/bread-101-basic-white-bread-shaping-and-baking-the-loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oakrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Easy recipe. Turned out with the texture I was hoping for. Because my bread tins seem to be a bit under 9x5, I made 5 rolls as well with the dough, and baked those in muffin tins. I used butter in place of lard. Both rolls and bread loaves took about 20 minutes for me. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States