Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This bread is SO yummy! My fiancee and I are both celiac, so I replaced the bread flour with gluten free flour. It worked perfectly! We also used butter instead of lard, and the recipe still turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanya Gearhart
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Great recipe and I made it two ways. In a loaf pan, then to see how this dough freezes I froze/thawed the other half and made the next day.It passed with flying colors, some don't. But I made that loaf artisan style because I love a thicker crust with carunch. Simply gently stretched and cupped in my hands to form it into a ball, proofed, then placed it in a preheated Dutch oven at 500f for 30 min then remove the lid and mist w/water and let it go until I get the color I like. It's a moist dough with oil so no danger of drying it. I also used olive oil. Not just any olive oil, Frantoia which I buy at Amazon. The last olive you'll ever buy once you taste it. Delicate and nutty, fruity and will pass the sip test for sure. A "peppery finish" is code for poor quality oil that they want to charge an arm and a leg for. It's actually a serious money racket. I buy a litre for $20.00 which is cheaper than anything else on the shelf but it comes in other sizes too. I will hold onto this recipe for sure. Wonderful crumb and perfect partner for my last batch of apple butter! I'm sending a photo of the round loaf which I cut so you can see how thick and brown the crust is yet the inside is wonderful, light and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Gearhart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have been looking for a light and fluffy white bread, and boy this is perfect! My family devoured both loaves! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I think it was suposed to be 1 tsp not tbsp. I did it with only a teaspoon and it was fine. not sure why the recipe asks you to preheat to 425, then bake it at 375. but over all the bread was tasty and is good for the first time bread baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia Denelzen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This has become my go to recipe for white bread. It comes out consistant every time, has great flavor and easy enough for my kids to make. I have already made 2 loaves this morning with another 2 rising. These are going to be for Thanksgiving stuffing....so much better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachelle
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have made it twice and it turned out great! I am a beginner and this was so easy. Made it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I substituted butter for the lard, and halved the recipe to make only one loaf. It turned out very nicely--a soft and fluffy traditional white bread, which is perfect for sandwiches. This is a very easy bread to make, and would recommend it to anyone who isn't experienced in bread baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Humbert Humbert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This is beautiful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I used butter instead of lard and followed the rest to a tee. I ended up with two beautiful loaves and will definitely use this recipe again! Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
My 10-year-old wanted to make bread. We did a quick search and he chose this recipe. I didn't help him at all! He did it all by himself, just like he wanted, and it turned out perfect! :D I'm quite proud. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States