Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Since I first found this recipe I loved it! I made this bread weekly. It is such an easy bread to make and is great with butter right out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
amazing I didn't have bread flour so u just used a.p and it was perfect .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
Bread is perfect!! I make them into 12 inch rolls and used as pizza dough. They are wonderful with everything!! I used melted butter instead of the lard, (it's what I had around the house).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Borsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
This is now my go-to recipe for a never fail homemade bread. I've used combinations of wholewheat, multigrain flours taking the place of up to half of the white flour. It may be my oven but I usually rotate half way through and remove at about the 23 - 25 minute mark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Finally found a recipe that makes a proper sized loaf of bread! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
this is the best recipe I've found , also cut down on salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I tried this because I couldn't find the recipe I normally use, I won't be going back. This is so simple, no changes are needed except to watch the amount of flour. I just used 6 cups, I didn't need the other half cup. I also used traditional yeast and proofed it before adding it - just personal preference. The bread was so light and has a great texture. I just baked the one loaf, I put the other half of the dough into the freezer for the next time I need fresh bread or buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Love this recipe. I added some herbs to mixture after the first rise. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri welborn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Well, I just tried it today, and not only it was a real success, but the bread tasted fantastic. I really liked the easy way to do it with absolutely no stress, just read and follow the recipe. Guess what I am baking tomorrow again...nah! I wont tell you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was much easier and turned out much better than the first bread recipe I tried here. The only thing I will change the next time I make this is a little less salt. I didn't add a full tablespoon this time, but the salt still really stands out to me so maybe just a teaspoon and a half next time. Makes great toast for my breakfast in the mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 548) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States