Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
This was a wonderful wonderful recipe. It was easy to follow and a the results were fantastic. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Delicious and easy, i wish i had the time to make my own bread for my family everyday, this would be the recipe i would use. Not sure why but it only took about half the time stated to rise at both risings. I will certainly make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I make this bread almost daily. I have halved the recipe, and then after a few loaves I also added 1 tablespoon of molasses to the recipe. And WOW! This bread is super toasted for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHARKNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this bread and it turned out wonderful I did use butter instead of lard only because i didn't have any lard other then that i didn't change any thing else, I used and electric slicer to slice bread and it sliced up beautifully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chris
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Great recipe!!! I used margarine instead of lard and these turned out beautifully. My family loves this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This recipe truly is the best! I braided one loaf, placed it in the bread pan, and brushed the top with a beaten egg before baking...the second loaf was the traditional shape and I brushed it with melted butter before baking...both looked great and tasted even better! I actually forgot to add the salt to the recipe but it wasn't missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madawaska, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
This bread turned out perfect!!! Great texture, taste, although I did reduce the salt to 2 t. as recommended by other reviewers. Just make certain that after you preheat the oven at 425 to turn in down to 375 when you put your loaves in or you just might be very disappointed with your results. This is a "keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim K
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Wonderful Bread but I did change just a few things. Used butter flavored Crisco instead of lard,1 tsp salt and brushed with an egg white wash just before baking. It seemed a little too crusty so I brushed butter over it for the last 10 minutes. This is my new Goto bread recipe! See picture I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
One of the best bread recipes around. Never had a bad loaf yet! We eat one loaf, use the second for homemade french toast! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Wonderful recipe taste exactly like my mothers. No need to look further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States