Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kitchen Boss
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Very Good or A Beginner To Make, But I Used Only 1 Packett Of Yeast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Boss

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Delicious! I am a novice cook/baker and this was a great first bread recipe. I halved the recipe and it turned out amazing. I don't see a need for store bought bread anymore :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
It could be because I'm new to baking bread, but I found I had to add almost 4 cups of flour (I also added 1 tbsp sugar and 1 tsp salt)! It came out very light and fluffy (which is good) but it was also a little bland. I used regular Crisco instead of lard. Will try again with some more flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Just took two loaves out of the oven and one is nearly gone! I bake most of the bread we use and decided to try this recipe because of the reviews and how easy it appeared. It lives up to the promises: a nice crispy crust and tender but sturdy crumb. I can't wait to see how it tastes toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Haven't tasted it yet, but it looks and smells amazing. I used butter instead of lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by villain_s_deeds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I had a recipe I used last year but I misplaced it which was actually a great thing. I came across this recipe and tried it. I've made it a few times now. I really like the texture of the dough. I've made plain as the recipe calls for and another time I stretched it flat and added brown sugar, raisins and pecans. I then rolled it up like a jelly roll, let it rise and baked it. There are all kinds of things you can do with it. This recipe's a keeper. I printed it out so I won't lose it ! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I followed the recipe and thought it turned out great! I used butter flavored Crisco for the lard, as that is what I had on hand. I didn't have to use any extra flour as some reviewers did...and I think it tasted good, not too salty at all. Turned out 2 awesome, beautiful loaves of bread that my family devoured. Will definatley make again. Super easy and quick for homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This was exactly what I was looking for! Like a lot of other users, I added vegetable oil instead of lard and cut back just a pinch on the salt. The texture is perfect for toast, sandwiches, grilled cheese, etc and it was ready in very little time. I decided to free-form the loaves, I prefer the rustic look of them. Be careful if you decide to go this route, the loaves rose so well they almost took over the baking sheet and each other! I love making more involved, time-consuming breads, but sometimes you just want a loaf of white bread in the house. I'll be making this weekly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Finally a perfect bread recipe! I just started baking all of my bread at home and failed with at least 5 different recipes that just wouldn't work even with perfectly proofed yeast but then I stumbled upon this heavenly recipe and now am in love. The bread has a nice crust and buttery flavor. This is now my go-to bread and I plan on baking this weekly. P.S. This bread is highly addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by malerba310

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Perfect turn out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 524) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States