Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Loved this recipe! It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I have made this several times. It is easy and comes out light and delicious. I use my kitchen Aide mixer and it is so easy. I bake on a stone baking sheet. Maybe that's why it is so good. Sometimes I add spices like rosemary or dill. It keeps for several days too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharnita
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! It is well worth the time and effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
this is a great bread but I have added 3 eggs to help fluff it up it is sooooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scot Downes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I love this recipe! The first time I mixed it by hand, but the second time, I used my Kitchen-Aid stand mixer with my dough hook and turned out great, if not better. The only thing I did different was use salted butter instead of the lard. We don't buy bread anymore. Oh, and to store the bread we use tall plastic containers, but, metal would would great too. If you have never made bread before I'd go to this website to know how to put it in the pans, it helped me: http://www.kingarthurflour.com/videos/bread-101-basic-white-bread-shaping-and-baking-the-loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oakrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Easy recipe. Turned out with the texture I was hoping for. Because my bread tins seem to be a bit under 9x5, I made 5 rolls as well with the dough, and baked those in muffin tins. I used butter in place of lard. Both rolls and bread loaves took about 20 minutes for me. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stephen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
this came out perfect, first time I made bread and it was great, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Yes I tried this recipe for the first time today. My two loaves came out very well. I am very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magikat
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It hardly seems worth it to add another 5-star review to this recipe, but I'm going to anyway! I've been baking all our bread for about a year now and searching for a good basic bread for sandwiches, toast, with eggs or peanut butter. This is it. I substituted 3 cups of the flour with whole wheat bread flour and added 1/4 cup gluten. Such a simple recipe, bakes up beautifully. A little chew to the crust and nice and soft inside.I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Excellent, excellent recipe! I don't buy bread anymore. I don't change a thing to the recipe, perfect in every way. If you want, you can put cheese or herbs on top. A 5 lbs. bag of bread flour should make you about 5 loaves. I make everything at once and freeze what I don't use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States