Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by magikat
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It hardly seems worth it to add another 5-star review to this recipe, but I'm going to anyway! I've been baking all our bread for about a year now and searching for a good basic bread for sandwiches, toast, with eggs or peanut butter. This is it. I substituted 3 cups of the flour with whole wheat bread flour and added 1/4 cup gluten. Such a simple recipe, bakes up beautifully. A little chew to the crust and nice and soft inside.I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Excellent, excellent recipe! I don't buy bread anymore. I don't change a thing to the recipe, perfect in every way. If you want, you can put cheese or herbs on top. A 5 lbs. bag of bread flour should make you about 5 loaves. I make everything at once and freeze what I don't use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My daughter (10 yrs old) and I (dad) made this, it was our first attempt at baking bread. The bread rose perfectly. We were thrilled and it tastes delicious. We are hooked and will be making this bread often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This is my favorite bread recipe ever! It's really delicious and versatile. I use butter instead of lard and use my bread machine to mix the dough. Then I bake it in pans or shape it into braids, dinner rolls, etc. I also sometimes add seasonings (such as thyme, rosemary, and marjoram). Great for sandwiches and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Buttons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
It came out as described. I made one loaf. I might have measured incorrectly as the water was too much for the flour. I added flour while kneading with the stand mixer, but I used whole wheat flour for that. This is the best loaf that I ever made, and I have been making bread for decades. For the rising segment, I rub softened Crisco on the loaf to keep it from getting hard in spots, something I hate. I let it rise in the oven after I turned it on and off and used a damp towel over it. I put a pan of hot water in the oven. It worked well. I used instant rise yeast and followed the instructions for that, which shortened the first rise. I used good butter rather than lard. I think I'll stick with this recipe rather than search further. Also, I cut down the salt to one tsp as the recommended amount seemed excessive, and other reviewers had commented about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I do like this but I added scolded milk and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This was so easy to make and very delicious...I changed the bread flour to AP flour (I exclusively used AP flour), the lard to Crisco shortening, and the tablespoon of salt to a teaspoon, and the result was still delicious...A chewy bread with a crispy crust, absolutely perfect and delicious! I also brushed the tops with melted butter to make them crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This is actually a really good recipe. We enjoyed the saltiness, however, I would have a tendency to cut the salt by at least 1/3 if not 1/2. Easy-slice, holds up well. Makes good rolls also, although a little dry-you will want extra butter with rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlet Estes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This has become my 'go to' bread, it's awesome. I always add some flax seed meal and chia seeds, I just mix them in the flour before I get started. Great way to add some omega 3's to your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcb111060
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe comes out great every time I make it! My family can't get enough of it. I follow the directions just as they are. No problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States