Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
This is the first time that a bread recipe worked for me. The bread taste great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This was my first attempt at making bread and I was quite pleased with the results. I used butter instead of lard and it worked fine. The bread is nice and crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Perfect for making sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
This is the best and easiest recipe I have ever found for a delicious, light white bread. I also substituted soft margarine for the lard and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I found this bread to be fantastic. It's the first one I've made that has turned out properly. Not too sweet like many of the recipes are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
If you have never made bread in your life before, this is the recipe for you; very easy and bread turns out fantastic. This will be a new "family recipe" for our family. thanks for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
This bread turned out wonderfully! Not too fluffy, but a nice, soft, tasty bread. I no longer buy my bread from the store, I use this instead! I substituted margarine for the lard, and it's still great! It doesn't get stale too quickly either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I absolutely LOVE this bread recipe. I found it a year ago and never used another one since. I personally like to take the bread out 5 minutes before and brush melted butter on the top and let it finish the lasr 5 minutes of cooking. Thanks for this wonderful bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I made rolls with this recipe instead of bread. It was a big hit at our Thanksgiving Dinner. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Good bread with a lot of substance. It would be great to use this with homegrown tomatoes as it will hold up nicely. I used my kitchen aid with the dough hook & it was a breeze to make, a keeper for me. Thanks Danialle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
My family loves this recipe. I've made it for several occasions and it always turns out great! I make it in my bread machine by cutting the recipe in half. I also substituted butter for the lard and increased the flour by 1/3 cup. I've used the leftover bread for french toast and my husband tells me it's the best he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States