Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
I absolutely LOVE this bread recipe. I found it a year ago and never used another one since. I personally like to take the bread out 5 minutes before and brush melted butter on the top and let it finish the lasr 5 minutes of cooking. Thanks for this wonderful bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
This bread turned out wonderfully! Not too fluffy, but a nice, soft, tasty bread. I no longer buy my bread from the store, I use this instead! I substituted margarine for the lard, and it's still great! It doesn't get stale too quickly either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I made rolls with this recipe instead of bread. It was a big hit at our Thanksgiving Dinner. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is absolutely terrific! The bread came out light and fluffy and very tasty. I did reduce the amount of salt - put in about 2 tsp instead of 1 Tbsp. I liked this way more than the 'popular' white bread on this same site. This is what homemade bread should taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I cut this recipe in half and let my bread machine to the work thru the 2nd rise. Then took it out and formed dinner rolls for tonight's dinner. Excellent recipe. Just bake dinner rolls for 20 minutes at 375 degrees!Thanks Danialle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2001
If you have never made bread in your life before, this is the recipe for you; very easy and bread turns out fantastic. This will be a new "family recipe" for our family. thanks for posting it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Good bread with a lot of substance. It would be great to use this with homegrown tomatoes as it will hold up nicely. I used my kitchen aid with the dough hook & it was a breeze to make, a keeper for me. Thanks Danialle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
This is the best and easiest recipe I have ever found for a delicious, light white bread. I also substituted soft margarine for the lard and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I found this bread to be fantastic. It's the first one I've made that has turned out properly. Not too sweet like many of the recipes are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
The only difference i did with the bread was to use Crisco shortening instead of the lard. The bread was ok, but it was TOO SALTY. One tablespoon of salt is just too much. I might try it again using maybe 1-1/2 tsps of salt. I will critique it again after i make it with the revised amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States