Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Easy! Turned out perfectly the first time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Love this recipe! Very easy! I did do a few things different, only because I like to experiment. I bloomed the yeast separately using some whey water from some ricotta cheese I made earlier. I heated up the whey water, took 1 TBSP of the sugar and the yeast and mixed together until the yeast was foamy. Then I mixed using a dough hook in the mixer, and let the dough rise. No problems at all. The dough rose very high, I punched down and divided into 2 loaves. The smell is awesome!! Baked off like nobodies bizness! Absolutely delicious and easy. This is a winner hands down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I got a kitchenaid for Christmas, and had been trying to bake a decent loaf of bread for a month! Living in LA with its dry climate, along with my inexperience, has given me hard, dense loaves...thanks for the foolproof recipe, because it's exactly what I was looking for. If you follow the directions, you literally cannot mess this up!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingconner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laurensomagical
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I live in the high desert, so maybe the dough seemed a bit drier at 5 cups and that's where I stopped incorporating the flour. So in my experience, we went and used 5 cups of flour altogether. We ended up with 2 beautiful loaves of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Easy and delicious! I substituted butter because I didn't have any lard. It was great. Light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Mm, awesome. I'm eating some right now. A really great bread recipe. I followed the directions as much as I could; but as I've heard said many times, bread baking is not an exact science. Times vary based on the temperature, the humidity, the pressure... I only needed about 4 1/2 cups of flour, and it took considerably longer to proof than the recipe said. (I'd allow myself about four hours to make it, all together) But it turned out well! If you're new to making bread, as I am, make sure that you de-pan the bread as soon as you can, even if it's not totally cooled. If you don't, the bottom of the bread will become soggy. Nobody wants that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I didn't get the results I was hoping for... I changed the lard to butter and used all-purpose flour (and a about 1/4 cup less flour than what was called for). The bread came out dense and tasted like flour. I know this can come from under baking the bread, but I'm very familiar with baking bread and I know when it is done. Plus, it was in the oven for the 30 minutes, with the exception of pulling them out and brushing egg white wash over them five minutes before they were done. I might have to invest in a scale to get the flour right for the next time... and find a recipe that uses weight instead of cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This recipe is solid, and it's good for a beginner. I have been baking breaking bread on and off for 15 years so this didn't measure up to the best I've ever made, but it was a good basic recipe. I would encourage people to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was my first attempt at baking bread and it turned out perfect!! I did use less salt and 1/2 a stick of butter instead of lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States