Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Perfect turn out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hicks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Awesome recipe. First time I made it exactly as written. Since then I have been adding some whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made this with excellent results, the only thing I would do different next time is soften the lard more than I did, I had to work a little harder to get it blended. The taste is perfect, I'll try to make this every week for my lunches at work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chili Dogma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Willy
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Great taste. Good white bread. I made it with all purpose flour and brushed the top with butter after I took it out of the oven. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was the first bread I baked and I loved it! The taste and the texture was great. I plan on keeping this bread as my main bread. Thanks, Danialle for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Good recipe...I use vegetable shortening instead of lard and half the amount of salt...Everytime I make this bread, it goes so fast. I have to make double the loaves :) Easy to make bread, especailly for those of us first time breadmakers! NO need for a bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Dias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dartmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This bread is SO yummy! My fiancee and I are both celiac, so I replaced the bread flour with gluten free flour. It worked perfectly! We also used butter instead of lard, and the recipe still turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brown eyed girl in NC
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Great recipe and I made it two ways. In a loaf pan, then to see how this dough freezes I froze/thawed the other half and made the next day.It passed with flying colors, some don't. But I made that loaf artisan style because I love a thicker crust with carunch. Simply gently stretched and cupped in my hands to form it into a ball, proofed, then placed it in a preheated Dutch oven at 500f for 30 min then remove the lid and mist w/water and let it go until I get the color I like. It's a moist dough with oil so no danger of drying it. I also used olive oil. Not just any olive oil, Frantoia which I buy at Amazon. The last olive you'll ever buy once you taste it. Delicate and nutty, fruity and will pass the sip test for sure. A "peppery finish" is code for poor quality oil that they want to charge an arm and a leg for. It's actually a serious money racket. I buy a litre for $20.00 which is cheaper than anything else on the shelf but it comes in other sizes too. I will hold onto this recipe for sure. Wonderful crumb and perfect partner for my last batch of apple butter! I'm sending a photo of the round loaf which I cut so you can see how thick and brown the crust is yet the inside is wonderful, light and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I have been looking for a light and fluffy white bread, and boy this is perfect! My family devoured both loaves! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I think it was suposed to be 1 tsp not tbsp. I did it with only a teaspoon and it was fine. not sure why the recipe asks you to preheat to 425, then bake it at 375. but over all the bread was tasty and is good for the first time bread baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia Denelzen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States