Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Finally found a recipe that makes a proper sized loaf of bread! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
this is the best recipe I've found , also cut down on salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Harris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I tried this because I couldn't find the recipe I normally use, I won't be going back. This is so simple, no changes are needed except to watch the amount of flour. I just used 6 cups, I didn't need the other half cup. I also used traditional yeast and proofed it before adding it - just personal preference. The bread was so light and has a great texture. I just baked the one loaf, I put the other half of the dough into the freezer for the next time I need fresh bread or buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Love this recipe. I added some herbs to mixture after the first rise. Turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri welborn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Well, I just tried it today, and not only it was a real success, but the bread tasted fantastic. I really liked the easy way to do it with absolutely no stress, just read and follow the recipe. Guess what I am baking tomorrow again...nah! I wont tell you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Lee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was much easier and turned out much better than the first bread recipe I tried here. The only thing I will change the next time I make this is a little less salt. I didn't add a full tablespoon this time, but the salt still really stands out to me so maybe just a teaspoon and a half next time. Makes great toast for my breakfast in the mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Perfect! It also works well with half whole wheat and half white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This bread is a good solid white bread and I've used it to make several types; it's easy to modify this bread. I've made cinnamon swirl with raisin, jalapeno cheddar as well sundried tomato & basil. Also, rolls turn out fantastic as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Glace Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
OMG This tasted just like bread I would buy from a professional bakery, except warm and just out of the oven! The (slight) changes I made: Only made half of this recipe, used "sugar in the raw" instead of white sugar, used cisco shortening instead of lard, made rolls instead of loaves so i only had to bake for 20 min. Texture and taste wow! Everything was spot on. Who knew bread was so simple to make? The only change I'll make next time is to use butter instead of shortening. It actually tasted too much like professional bread and i want to give it that homestyle buttery taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Poirier
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
So easy to make , my second time making bread and it was easy to follow and it tastes amazing , not gonna buy store bread as much now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Poirier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States