Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by laurensomagical
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I live in the high desert, so maybe the dough seemed a bit drier at 5 cups and that's where I stopped incorporating the flour. So in my experience, we went and used 5 cups of flour altogether. We ended up with 2 beautiful loaves of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Easy and delicious! I substituted butter because I didn't have any lard. It was great. Light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Mm, awesome. I'm eating some right now. A really great bread recipe. I followed the directions as much as I could; but as I've heard said many times, bread baking is not an exact science. Times vary based on the temperature, the humidity, the pressure... I only needed about 4 1/2 cups of flour, and it took considerably longer to proof than the recipe said. (I'd allow myself about four hours to make it, all together) But it turned out well! If you're new to making bread, as I am, make sure that you de-pan the bread as soon as you can, even if it's not totally cooled. If you don't, the bottom of the bread will become soggy. Nobody wants that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I didn't get the results I was hoping for... I changed the lard to butter and used all-purpose flour (and a about 1/4 cup less flour than what was called for). The bread came out dense and tasted like flour. I know this can come from under baking the bread, but I'm very familiar with baking bread and I know when it is done. Plus, it was in the oven for the 30 minutes, with the exception of pulling them out and brushing egg white wash over them five minutes before they were done. I might have to invest in a scale to get the flour right for the next time... and find a recipe that uses weight instead of cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This recipe is solid, and it's good for a beginner. I have been baking breaking bread on and off for 15 years so this didn't measure up to the best I've ever made, but it was a good basic recipe. I would encourage people to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Annie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was my first attempt at baking bread and it turned out perfect!! I did use less salt and 1/2 a stick of butter instead of lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I loved this recipe - very light and fluffy! I was able to get a huge loaf plus one shaped more like an italian loaf as well as a pizza out of this recipe - it could easily be halved. I used vegetable shortening and all purpose flour - came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
excellent traditional recipe. THE HARDEST PART IS TAPPING IT ON THE BOTTOM TO SEE IF IT IS HOLLOW SOUNDING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I'll have to try this recipe again and hopefully be able to give it five stars next time. I'm sure it's something I did on my end, but this bread turned out dense with a lumpy top. the dough itself seemed somewhat dry initially to the point I added a bit more water. I'm not sure if I accidentally added too much flour or if I didn't kneed long enough. I'm not an experienced bread maker, but this recipe seemed so easy and fool proof. My daughter, who loves plane white bread, said it had no flavor. I'm not sure if a bit more sugar is necessary. I didn't mind the denseness, and actually enjoyed the crunchy crust, but it wasn't at all light and fluffy on the inside for me the first time. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacySnook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This is a good recipe, but following it exactly makes really dense bread. Here are the changes I made to make it nice and fluffy. I used all purpose flour instead of bread flour (AP flour has less protein and makes helps make it fluffy). I also use Highly active yeast instead of regular yeast. I proof the yeast before making the bread. To proof the yeast dissolve it in warm water(120-130 degrees F) with the sugar and let sit for about 10 min until a froth forms on top, then proceed with the recipe. I too used crisco shortening instead of lard(mostly because its what I had). I have a convection oven so when baking I preheat the oven to 350 Degrees F convection bake and bake for 30 min. I hope this is helpful to others using this recipe. (I do plan to try using honey instead of sugar in the future when i make it again ill let you know how it works)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States