Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by ajones360
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
A KEEPER - Definitely! I'm fairly new to bread baking, having received a KitchenAid mixer this past Christmas (my husband, the avid fisherman, hunter, & woodworker said to me as I agonized over the price, "You want the right tool for the job, don't you?" - SOOO glad he did!). I used the recipe that came with my mixer several times, but like another reviewer, the bread seemed very dense. THIS one though, is light, fluffy-textured, & flavorful! I did however, make a couple minor changes. I used butter, all 6.5 cups bread flour, and rapid rise yeast, as that was all I had on hand, and did ALL of the mixing/kneading with the KitchenAid (YES!). I let it keep kneading on speed 2 for several minutes until it cleaned the sides of the bowl & became quite elastic, and did the first rise for 1 hour in a previously heated & cooled 350* oven (we keep our house fairly cool). I made the cinnamon loaf using Country Crock's Cinnamon spread instead of butter & a mix of 1/2 cup sugar w/2 tsp cinnamon. The second rise was also in a warmed oven for 45 minutes. The reason the white loaf looks a little flat on one end - it stuck to the damp towel & I pulled a bit too quickly when removing it! Absolutely delicious breads! I'm NEVER using another recipe! Thanks for sharing, Danialle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajones360
Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Mannsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Wow! This was the easiest bread I have ever made! I only had one loaf pan so made cinnamon rolls with the other half. I put the usual butter/brown sugar/cinnamon on half of the rolls and put dried cherries and chocolate chips on the other half. Just had 2 of them with some coffee and YUM is the verdict!! Oh, I used 1/2c.sugar instead of the 3 T called for and butter in place of the lard. Thanks for such an easy,but good recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2cook4u

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by n3qtrtme
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
One of my "Bucket List" items was to bake a loaf of really good white bread that did not resemble a brick. After years of trying, I have finally succeeded, thanks to this recipe! I used my Kitchenaid mixer for the kneading and Crisco instead of lard. This could not have been easier! I HIGHLY recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by n3qtrtme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Navasota, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I have been baking bread for over 30 years and have many recipes. This white bread is the best recipe I think I have ever had. Very flavorful and stays moist for days. This is the only white bread recipe i use now. It really is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Berwick, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My first time making homemade bread and didn't think it was going to turn out but I must say this was very easy and tasted great!! Making more today. I too didn't use lard but butter. Based bread with butter right after taking out of oven. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Lovely! works out perfectly and no changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweettea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This is a great bread recipe- not too fussy and the product is great, especially if you don't add all the salt. I really like how easy it is substitute in whole flour as well. I've been adding two cups of whole flour in after adding the first two cups of white flour and the bread still turns out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brazenmagnolia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
my go to bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by louie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wcoon
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I used this recepie today as a base to make a seaweed bread. It turned out pretty well. The changes I made were: Used olive oil instead of lard Substituted ground up nori (the seaweed used to make sushi rolls) for the salt Substituted 1 cup of flour for flaxseed meal I also ended up adding a touch more olive oil and water and using less flour than the recipe suggested
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I used butter instead of lard and I'm unsure as to how old one of the packets of yeast was. My bread didn't rise well the 2nd time so I got a shorter, denser loaf than intended but it's still yummy. I'm going to try again with new yeast and maybe use Crisco shortening instead. Maybe less salt too - tasted fine but that was an awful lot of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States