Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Baked this bread yesterday. Very good. The only difference was I used Crisco and all purpose flour. 6 cups flour was plenty for the dough and dusting the surface for kneading. Baked at 375 30 minutes. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Wow. Just perfect, the bread is light and on the inside, golden brown and crispy on the inside. Havfluffy ing some experience making pizza dough, I let the yeast in the water with the sugar for 10 minutes. Use your hands to make this bread, as it's the best way to incorporate the flour. It only took 30 minutes and it was ready. I cut a slice right after I took it out of the oven and it was amazing, can't wait to make sandwiches using this bread. EDIT: After making it for a third time, I discovered some tricks. First, only put in 6 cups of flour not 6 and a half. Use an electric mixer with dough hooks when mixing in the ingredients, you then only need to knead the dough 5 minutes. 25 minutes in the oven is enough, my 3rd attempt was the most soft and delicious yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boris A. Bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EllenGrace Francke
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The loafs just came out and my husband and I ate half a loaf already with just butter on it. Oh my goodness! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Wicked recipe and not at all hard to make thanks Danialle :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I baked a loaf of this bread, this evening. The crust was crispy, and the inside was dense and soft. I halved the recipe, except for the lard/butter, which I left at 3 T. Before baking, I split the top and poured a tablespoon of butter inside the split. Baked for 30 minutes, and the bread came out perfect. This will be my go to recipe for white bread from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I love this recipe for it's ease and taste. The whole family loves it. As being a vegetarian, I did substitute the lard with extra virgin coconut oil. The consistency remained and gives it a nice twist to normality :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I loved this recipe. I replaced the lard with coconut oil. I didn't have bread flour and use King Arthur all purpose flour and it came out wonderful. For anyone having problems with stickiness if you're live in an area with high humidity you'll have to adjust your flour/water. The 8 minute kneading is needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Very good! I melted butter, infused it with a touch of truffle oil and course salt, five minutes before it was done I brushed it with the butter mixture and grated some great dry sheep cheese on top. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Amazing, perfect recipe! It raised well, cooked perfectly, and tasted wonderful, all according to the specifications of the recipe, substituting corn oil for the lard. This will become a weekly practice for me. If you save a loaf for the following day, it is more manageable for slicing thinly. On the first day, it's so soft and spongy that the slices come out thicker, still, oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spanishdona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roxbury Township, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 554) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States