Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I substituted olive oil for the lard and liked the bread quite a bit. The texture was very nice. Like others though, I found it a bit too salty . I'll try again with two teaspoons of salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Tasty and simple. Baked all three loaves, then froze two of them. Later, defrosted and sliced. Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
This bread was really good. I used honey in place of the sugar, used grapeseed oil in place of the lard and reduced the salt. I baked at 375 for 30 minutes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Yes, I tired this recipe and it was just ok, I think It could just be my location and my bread making skills, I reather make my own bread than buy 3 or 4$loafs! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmilyD
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I used this recipe for a science project to compare different kinds of yeast. Everything worked out PERFECTLY and it was a big hit with my classmates, who wanted to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmilyD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
this bread was wonderful. i have already made it twice and both times it turned out perfectly. this is much better than store bought white bread. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I just can't believe how easy it was to make. I made two amazing loaves of bread and the bread tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I have tried this recipe several times while living in Nicaragua (Pacific coast). By the time I have added all the flour, the dough is still usually way to wet & sticky to knead. FYI kitchen is open air ... there is an onshore salt air breeze & quite high humidity. I'm just wondering whether I should adjust the water content down or if it is OK to add lots more flour while kneading ? If I leave the dough for a very long second rise, it usually turns out OK but often quite dry & dense. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I tried this lots of times and I love it! I dont' buy store bread anymore and fills up my kids better for school sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by erika925925
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Have made this twice and LOVE it. So easy and tastes great! I just add a little butter on top just before it's done baking...YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erika925925

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 484) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States