Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Fantastic. I have struggled with bread making for years but this recipe was so easy and came out perfect. I am now a confident bread maker thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This was GOOOOOD! Don't make it in your food processor though! I did and all the liquid seeped out from underneath so I had to start over. There is actually a sign on my 9 cup capacity mixer that shows up to what point you can add liquid but I chose to not pay attention :/ I made some 2 days ago and am going to make some again today. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Mewowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Vincentreo
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This Recipe makes excellent bread. I used canola oil due to not having lard and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincentreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
This is a great recipe! This is my first experience baking bread and its easy and it tastes great! My husband told me not to buy another bread from the store. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Used this recipe while visitng my sister and her family in West Virginia and my 16-year-old nephew asked me to teach him how to make homemade bread. Didn't have the Fannie Farmer recipe that I've used for the last 19 years, but this recipe seemed very similar, so we tried it. Doubled the recipe and were treated to four BEAUTIFUL loaves of bread. My daughters, nieces, nephew, mom, sister, and I almost ate an entire loaf 5 minutes after they came out of the oven at 9:30 P.M. : ) Great the next day for toast and BLTs. Two comments: for the person who mentioned that they didn't last well for days, no homemade bread does. It isn't full of preservatives and additives like store-bought bread. Secondly, we ended up baking the bread for 1 hour, like my Fannie Farmer recipe and my mom's 45-year-old bread recipe call for. Didn't think it was anywhere near done at 30 minutes. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kjanhsen
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
My whole house smells like heaven, and my husband and I just polished off half of the loaf smothered in Nutella...so obviously it was a hit. I made it just as the recipe called for, salt and all. No complaints on saltiness here. This is the new go-to bread recipe in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjanhsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Exactly what I've been looking for! Oddly enough, I made half the batch and still ended up with 2 loaves of bread. Hmmm, anyway, very pleased!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great tasting, easy and basic white bread. I substitute local honey for the sugar, and veggie or coconut oil for lard. Makes great sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This recipe is fantastic! This was my first time making bread without a bread machine and it turned out lovely! I covered the bread with aluminum foil as it baked so the top wouldn't brown too much. I removed the foil for the last 7 minutes and brushed the top with melted butter. The bread came out crusty and flaky on the outside with exactly the right density on the inside (light without being too light and just dense enough to be perfect). I used the recipe exactly as it stated but I halved it because I only wanted to make a single loaf. The bread was a HUGE hit in the house. I served it with our dinner and between my husband, my 5 year old daughter and myself, we ate almost the entire loaf with only 2 slices leftover. They are already begging me to make another loaf! I saw a few reviews saying they cut the salt down. Honestly, you don't need to. The bread wasn't at all salty. It was absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I like the flavor of this recipe and I followed it precisely but just from reading it wondered about adding the salt with the yeast. Everything I've ever learned has told me doing that kills the yeast. As I thought it may do...my loaves didn't rise as I thought they should. Next time I will add the salt in with the flour when mixing that in and see how things go. Other than that, I liked the flavor and it wasn't too time consuming. Also...this recipe states to preheat the oven to 425...but doesn't state if you bake at that temp for any amount of time, it only says to bake at 375. So...are you supposed to simply have the oven at that temp when you begin baking and turn it down...or what? That step is very unclear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 509) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States