Traditional White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Crust is soft enough, inside is fluffy. I reduced the salt to 3/4 T. It is not too sweet, just perfect. I used unsalted butter, and I added 1/4 t. more yeast because I am at 2200 feet elevation. I did no hand-kneading, only used my big KitchenAid mixer. Excellent. This is my new go-to for when I need a break from whole wheat. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Wonderful! Easy to make, turns out nice and soft ... My family can't get enough! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Awesome recipe! My family loved it :) Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CarolO
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
This was my first experience baking bread and the recipe was perfect! I followed the instructions exactly as they are listed (and watched the video while I prepared the bread-this really helped!). It is delicious and not too sweet; my husband loves it too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Easy recipe. I used butter in place of the lard. Good substance and nice homemade taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I made these using the bread flour, the bread came out great, I let my bread machine do the kneading for me. The bread came out light and fluffy at first the top was crusty but once cooled was soft. Didn't have enough salt but that was my fault I used about 2 tsp instead of the 1tbsp...wish I did though. But good keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
My family loves this bread, I also used this recipe to make wheat bread, just substitute wheat flour for white and add 1/3 cup honey. its really great, and very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This bread recipe was awesomely easy to make. It only takes about 20 minutes of actual work. The rest of the time is just waiting on the dough to rise or bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
I substituted olive oil for the lard and liked the bread quite a bit. The texture was very nice. Like others though, I found it a bit too salty . I'll try again with two teaspoons of salt instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Tasty and simple. Baked all three loaves, then froze two of them. Later, defrosted and sliced. Still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States