Traditional Swedish Pepparkakor Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
if you like Anna's Ginger thins, this is the closest I have found to them. Lovely and delicious. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This recipe needed some tweaking. There was not near enough corn syrup to get the dough to stick--it was "sandy". I added about 2/3 cup and that was adequate, but from looking at other recipes I think you could add closer to 3/4 to 1C and still be fine. My spice additions were at least doubled and I used as follows: 2 tsp cloves, 1T cinnamon, 2tsp Cardamom, 1T ginger, and I will add more Ginger next time as I like them zingy. WITH those changes, it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
5 stars for flavor, but 1 star for difficulty. As other reviewers noted, it was really difficult to roll out since it was sandy in texture. I could roll it with great effort (after it was at room temp - no way right out of the refrigerator) and could only get 1 or 2 cookies cut out of it because the rest was so crumbly. I tried adding more corn syrup after re-reading the reviews which did help the dough stick together better, however, it was extremely hard to mix it in! My arms were exhausted and it was too much for my Kitchen Aid mixer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I followed this recipe to the letter and had no problems with it. The dough is super hard out of the fridge but I worked it a bit with my hands then rolled it out just fine. A lot of flour helped in making it roll out super thin and I didn't have any problems with crumbling until it started to warm up. They were exactly the cookies I was looking for. I only gave it 4 stars because if I make it again, I will definately double the spices. I like my spice cookies to be really strong and these are pretty mild as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickilyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This recipe is great - very close to my family's recipe for these cookies. I would suggest using margarine instead of butter - the dough rolls out much more easily especially when the dough is cold. That way you don't need to add all the extra corn syrup. I also like to double the spices, especially the cardamom. You can sprinkle the cookies with colored sugar prior to baking to make them more festive (my stepson loves to decorate them with colored sugar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This recipy tasted just like the ready made Pappakakor i tasted in Stockholm. I am glad I can bake it home now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Imanelshawaf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Just tried this recipe a couple of days ago and loved it! The best I've ever tried and it's proof to me that homemade is far better than any store bought version...yes, and in some cases, even small bakery batches. I made a few variations and it looks and tastes like the experimentation went well. First, I used used butter which I believe is much better than margarine. It adds taste and texture that you can tell lacks in store bought types. 2nd, I substituted 3/4 cup of white flour for whole wheat unbleached flour. I think this allowed me to reduce refrigeration time to 15-20 min. Not to mention, it added a bit of a healthiness to the recipe. Also, I used 1 cup of sucanat , 1 cup of natural (unbleached) granulated sugar and brown rice syrup to substitute the sugar items in the recipe. The finished product is crispy, pleasantly spiced, tasty, buttery, and fantastic compliment with tea, Indian Chai, milk, coffee.... You name it! For the most part a lot of these ingredients were substituted because I don't normally use them in my baking. The results came out so well, I think I will continue makIng them this way. Well, happy experimentation and happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Made the recipe to the letter multiple times. Family and coworkers LOVE it (so do I!). Some prefer the harder crunchy version, some prefer the softer version, varies depending on dough thickness and cooking time. Dough is 'sandy' and tough to stick together before refrigeration and can crumble at first after you take it out of the fridge, but eventually it comes together. I've found that refrigerating it briefly is much easier than for long periods of time - 30 min at most - enough to cool it off and make it less sticky but not enough to harden it up and make it difficult to roll out. Will be making this recipe again and again. PS makes LOTS of cookies - I wouldn't be surprised if the estimate of 100 cookies was right on target.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Juhlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States