Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Great recipe! I did make a few changes to suit my tastes - I added mushrooms and pie crusts (I guess I made more of a "pot pie") Very yummy, and filling. I thought the mashed potato layer was fabulous. I would make this again, thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was great! I made it using dairy products instead of making it vegan however I still kept it vegetarian by using the ground beef substitute. I also used butter in the mashed potatoes instead of cream cheese because I didn't have any. I'm always looking for tasty vegetarian recipes since recently becoming one and this is one I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was really a great recipe. I made it for a vegan potluck I hosted a couple weeks ago. It was a hit! The mashed potatoes were awesome-- I was a little skeptical about using veganaise but it was really decadent. I'm making this again for dinner tonight. I skipped the soy cheese on top-- it's so rich as it is. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Thanks for a great recipe. I had to alter it, as I didnt have some ingredients on hand. I used instant potatoes but used Tofutti & Trader Joes soy creamer and added fresh thyme. I didnt have fresh or canned tomatos so I used a veg broth and used margarine ad a little four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My whole family, even my very picky kids, loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent and easy to make! My fiance who is a big meat eater loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made this with a couple of alterations as I am vegetarian, not vegan. I made the mashed potato with instant mash; I didnt use the olive oil or the cream cheese. For the bottom layer, I used sweetcorn as I didn't have any peas. I also added some veggie worcester sauce. It was meant to be a couple of tbps but ended up about twice as much as it sloshed in quicker than i expected! However, this seemed to add a special touch as the children were fighting for extras! Nobody noticed the topping was made from instant mash and I would make it this way again. A successful family meal in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was awesome! I used instant mashed potatoes and substituted a can of mixed veggies for the celery. My non-veggie husband really liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rora Starita
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Amazing... I followed the recipe exact except I didn't have Italian seasoning so I improvised. Used Daiya soy cheese... so good! I put the casserole dishes under the broiler for the last 5 minutes because I am impatient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rora Starita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Love love love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States