Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
A regular favorite at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was wonderful! My family isn't vegetarian so I substituted with ground beef but everything was great! And I got my kids to eat lots of vegetables! Always a plus. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Renea Franks Hohenstern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was good. I followed the recipe exactly at first, but the mashed potatoes were a complete fail for me. Not sure why but all the vegannaise, cream cheese, milk and olive oil made my potatoes way too runny. Anyway, I decided to make the potatoes again and this time I just made it the way I know, using Earth Balance vegan butter, rice milk and a bit of salt. Once this was done, I followed the rest of the recipe and it came out great. Also, I don't think the cheese is necessary, but that is my personal preference. Next time I make this, I will leave out the cheese and try subbing zucchini for the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This is the best way I've found to use up the bounty of winter veggies from our CSA. We have lots of potatoes, and I've been successful in adding all sorts of vegetables (carrots, parsnips, turnips, celery) to the veggie mix. I omit the faux-meat and add mashed beans (white, garbanzo) instead. I also double the spices used. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sheryl
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This came out good- replaced the soy and vegan items with whole milk items. Used veggie meat- tasted just like real meat when it was all done. Used zucchini in place of celery and a couple dabs of Worcestershire sauce - boyfriend loved it! I thought it was good; just am not too fond of meaty dishes; was surprised by how much this tasted like the real thing. Edit: I've made this several times since. I love putting Worcester sauce in the mixture and as a garnish. I've added more stars since I've really come to appreciate this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Excellent. Tastes just like the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This was delicious. Even better the next day. We used soy ground beef, but used regular dairy for the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mincooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
amazing honestly it was so good, i am new to being vegan and this was an easy transision. the only thing I did different was add some garlic to the mash potatoes to (but i love garlic) really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liannasheree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I used real dairy (except milk, I used almond milk) and did my usual don't-really-measure-anything, and it still turned out amazing. While making it, I wondered if the "meat" mixture should have some kind of gravy-ness to it, but I didn't miss it at all when eating. In fact, I rather devoured my first serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This absolutely delicious! I made the vegetarian version of this recipe, and it came out wonderfully. It's a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States