Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I hate reviews that don't stick to the original recipe, however since I only made some minor changes, and since it was so good, I'm reviewing it and giving it 5 stars. For the potatoes I just added a bit of vegan cream cheese, some earth balance, and a splash of soy creamer. Since others commented on the bottom layer being dry I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of a tomato and it kept things really moist. Not a fan of vegan cheese so I left that off. I served it with the vegetarian gravy recipe from this site and it was perfect. None of us were really fans of traditional shepherds pie before we were vegan, but everyone loved this. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I found this was fantastic I change a few things I added some vinegar and olive oil dressing to the veg. I also half cooked my carrots before I added them and used a can of stew tomatoes with the chopped tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I've made this a couple of times now and each time it's been great! The first time I made it as directed, only used instant mashed potatoes to save time. It was very good. The second time I still used the instant mashed potatoes but subbed in a can of garbanzo beans for the ground beef substitute. Also, after cooking the veggies, I deglazed the pan with about 1/2 cup of vegetable broth to make the veggies a bit more moist. It was FABULOUS! This is a great recipe because you can vary the ingredients to your liking. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Tried this recipe for a dinner party particularly for my vegan sister-in-law.....she is a fantastic cook and she raved at how tasty this was..and many of the carnivores agreed! We topped it with a fabulous mushroom vegan gravy which was just like putting the icing on the cake!!!!Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Andrea made this her way and is was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Greasy, heavy, and unsatisfying. IThe dish didn't take shape, and overall felt less like shepherd's pie and more like loaded mashed potatoes. The dish felt under seasoned and became palatable only after liberal application of salt and Frank's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Since I don't eat meat,I almost didn't open the "Thanksgiving" email from Allrecipes,but am I glad I did. This recipe is so good. I would have never thought to attempt a shepards pie without meat. I made it vegetarian,not vegan, skipped the cream cheese,because I forgot to buy it and added mushrooms,because I love them, but the kept everything else the same. It is a great cold weather comfort food. I also like it because you can add or change the vegetables to suit your taste or what happens to be on hand. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Made non-vegan. Turned out great. And was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this dish on a whim so I did not have all the ingredients on hand. I used an instant mash potato mix for the topping. For the bottom, I used onions, garlic, carrots, canned corn, canned peas, canned tomatoes, and sweet peppers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
My picky boys loved this! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States