Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I have never had traditional Shepherd's pies but my husband said he used to love it before he became a vegetarian. It came out absolutely fabulous! Even my five year old son didn't say a word about all the veggies in it and finished his whole plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Made this for Christmas. My brother's girlfriend is vegan, has been for several years, and we always feel bad because we're a meat and potatoes family and don't now what we can really feed her. This turned out quite well. She described it as "decadent" and my brother had seconds and thirds. Leftovers were finished at dinner tonight. Definitely keeping this one in my recipe box! My parents rated it as a 4. Put a little salt in the bottom half of the dish, and I think it really will earn that 5 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Had been wanting to make this for a while and finally got around to it last night. OMG!!! Absolutely amazing! I made a couple of minor adjustments, mostly just to speed it up. I subbed instant potatoes, prepared just according to package instructions (just easier). I also subbed a whole bag of frozen peas and carrots (15 oz or so) rather than using the scant half cup of peas + fresh carrots. Like another reviewer, I forgot the tomato and just added some ketchup, along with about half a cup of veggie bouillion to keep it moist. I also added a generous squirt of Sriracha. It was delicious!!! My boyfriend, who converted to vegetarianism about a year ago, said it is one of his favorite dishes that I have made. Since I left out the mayo, cream cheese, and oil in the potatoes, and only used a splash of olive oil to saute the veggies in, this was also a very low fat dish. So much better than we ever expected it to be!!!! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe - it's fantastic! I doubled the recipe and my sons and husband devoured everything. I couldn't find vegan mayo or cream cheese so used regular (I didn't add oil to my potatoes). This was the first time I used soy cheese and enjoyed that too. Loved this recipe and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Made this vegetarian rather than vegan. Used half instant, half mashed red potatoes with butter and sour cream. Totally forgot we needed a tomato, so followed another reviewer's suggestion and used a bit more than half a can of veg broth, about a tbsp of butter & a little flour. Also for lack of tomato, threw in a few squirts of ketchup and a splash of soy sauce. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Love love love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rora Starita
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Amazing... I followed the recipe exact except I didn't have Italian seasoning so I improvised. Used Daiya soy cheese... so good! I put the casserole dishes under the broiler for the last 5 minutes because I am impatient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rora Starita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was awesome! I used instant mashed potatoes and substituted a can of mixed veggies for the celery. My non-veggie husband really liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made this with a couple of alterations as I am vegetarian, not vegan. I made the mashed potato with instant mash; I didnt use the olive oil or the cream cheese. For the bottom layer, I used sweetcorn as I didn't have any peas. I also added some veggie worcester sauce. It was meant to be a couple of tbps but ended up about twice as much as it sloshed in quicker than i expected! However, this seemed to add a special touch as the children were fighting for extras! Nobody noticed the topping was made from instant mash and I would make it this way again. A successful family meal in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent and easy to make! My fiance who is a big meat eater loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States