Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I would technically give this recipe 4.5 stars because I think a nice mushroom gravy on the inside of the pie would be delicious. Changes: I omitted: the tomato, ground "beef", used 4 red potatoes, omitted the olive oil, "cheese" and cream cheese in the potato crust. I added: diced green beans, scallions, paprika, poultry seasoning, cajun seasoning, diced tofu marinated in soy sauce and liquid smoke, and 4 tablespoons of Chalula hot sauce to the potatoes. I wish I'd had some Daiya to sprinkle on top though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My first attempt at a vegan meal and it was great. I didn't put in the tomato because it just didn't seem right! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Card

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Casco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Brilliant. Takes awhile to make, but it's worth it. A very flexible recipe-- can use whatever veggies/meat substitutes you have. I used veggie burgers instead of fake ground beef and it came out with a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Yum! Didn't use fake meat but added broccoli and mushrooms instead. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I thought this recipe was fabulous - my carnivore husband said "not bad" which is as much enthusiasm as he can muster for something with soy meat substitute. I followed the recipe pretty closely but added green beans and substituted 1 can of organic tomato sauce instead of the chopped tomato. I also sprinkled in a little worchestershire sauce and increased the Italian seasoning. The mashed potatoes I made exactly as the recipe reads. We ate it with ketchup, as others suggested. Definitely a homestyle comfort food type recipe. Even though it's kind of time intensive, I'll make it again. My prep time was more like 40 minutes and total time until ready was about an hour and a half. But worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This turned out amazing! I kept it totally vegan, but used garlic and chive flavored vegan cream cheese and left out the italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was great. I changed a few things – I used instant potatoes, as others have said. I'm sure it didn't taste QUITE as good, but it was still tasty. I also put the whole thing in a pie crust instead of a baking dish. Turned out so well! I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
this was awesome. the potatoes are to die for (and i didn't even use cheese). switch up the vegetables to your liking, it works with anything. just goes to show that being vegan isn't hard at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Yum! We loved it. Next time I would leave the salt out of the potatoes though, it wasn't necessary and made it pretty salty. I am sure it would be just as delicious without it, or with a lot less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Yum! Instead of using meat substitute i used a can of red kidney beans and 3/4 cup of red lentils, and i added twice the amount of Italian seasoning, and a couple more garlic cloves. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States