Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Used real dairy products and sour cream instead of mayo. also used a suggestion by another reviewer and substituted 3/4 bag of frozen peas and carrots. Very good; even the picky 3 year old asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollyelm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was super yummy. My only modifications were that I added a few mushrooms to the veggies, and instead of using 1 large onion, I added half a medium onion & the white part of a leek. As others mentioned, the mashed potatoes were yummy, but they were really salty which was fine because there is no salt added to the veggie/fake meat portion. I would make the vegan potatoes again, but with "garlic salt to taste". All in all, a great recipe, the starch really helped in the day after effects of St. Pattys Day, and the meat eating bf that doesn't fancy shepherds pie too much liked it too. Thanks for the recipe! Also, i think a good tip for this recipe is to let it cool just a bit before serving so the food has some time to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I made this recipe with ground chicken thigh as I can't have egg/dairy, but can still eat meat. I couldn't find any "vegan cream cheese", so I didn't add it to the mashed potatoes. I did everything else as directed except putting the vegan cheddar cheese on top, I instead sprinkled the top with garlic powder and paprika. It turned out great! The potatoes did have a soy taste to them, but the next day the flavour of everything else made it extremely difficult to notice. Overall I thought this was delicious! A dish I won't mind eating all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Amazing! Also good if you substitute dairy for the vegan components (ex milk instead of soy milk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I made this meal last night - I was so impressed! In fact, I think the left-overs tasted EVEN BETTER today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Wow! This was out of this world delicious!!! I have been making more vegan dishes for health reasons and thought I would try this one out. I cooked the recipe exactly as written and it turned out fantastic. It was so good my husband asked me if I had in fact thrown ground beef in it. The next day he had two more servings for breakfast!! Thanks Laura for submitting such a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surpriseitswendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
OMG. This was delicious. As a new vegetarian this recipe was interesting however I used sea salt as a substitute and cut it in half the second time since I am not a fan of salt. But other that that this meal choice was great and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I liked this recipe. The only thing I changed was I used real beef. I think next time I would sub earth balance margaine for the olive oil because the olive oil flavor was overpowering. It was a good solid meal though. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Did not use vegan ingredients, still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I used cheddar because I forgot the vegan substitute when shopping. This was great. Daughter couldn’t believe it was vegetarian. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States