Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I used real dairy (except milk, I used almond milk) and did my usual don't-really-measure-anything, and it still turned out amazing. While making it, I wondered if the "meat" mixture should have some kind of gravy-ness to it, but I didn't miss it at all when eating. In fact, I rather devoured my first serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This absolutely delicious! I made the vegetarian version of this recipe, and it came out wonderfully. It's a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This is delicious! Used dairy products, including some low fat options. We did feel like the mashed potato layer was a little thick, so I'd suggest either using a wider dish, or maybe using less potatoes. Also the "meat" & veg part was pretty crumbly, so I wonder if there's a way to keep it together more... (haven't read the comments yet to see if someone else figured it out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VegWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this in individual ramekin like dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Very tasty! Made it vegetarian, not vegan, with cheese and milk, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Wonderful recipe. Took to a Christmas potluck where, by chance, the host had made a beef version. Some guests told me they preferred my vegan version. Two small changes: added a splash of vegan Worcestershire sauce. Also, since I mistakenly bought vegan sour cream rather than vegan cream cheese... used the vegan sour cream but added a little nutritional yeast. Delicious! By the way, I used Lightlife Smart Ground crumbles and Daiya cheddar-style vegan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This came out really well...it gets 4stars because of minor changes. In my regular beef shephards pie the recipe calls for 1/2 c of beef gravy on the meat mix. Since this is the veggie version i thickened 1/2 c of veggie broth with flour for veggie gravy. The potato mix on top...seemed awfully high in fat content so i cut in half the mayo milk and oil. It came out just fine. My daughter has been bugging me lately that we need to eat healthier. So....i made this version and she was horrfied that i messed with the traditional shep pie that she likes. She was prepared to hate it.....and went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Made this special for my sister who's vegan, and not only was she floored on how good it was, but the rest of my family had no idea it was vegan. They all loved it and I have to admit, best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Made this for myself plus 3 highly carnivorous men in Nebraska. They all loved it. And believe me, these guys wouldn't lie just to be polite. This is by far, the best vegan recipe I have ever tried. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
I made this last night vegitarian style. my boyfriend and I loved it. I used the advice of the other reveiws, added pot pie crust to the bottom and used the vegi's I had on hand. I left out the mayo and added butter instead in the potatoes. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States