Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I've made this a couple of times now and each time it's been great! The first time I made it as directed, only used instant mashed potatoes to save time. It was very good. The second time I still used the instant mashed potatoes but subbed in a can of garbanzo beans for the ground beef substitute. Also, after cooking the veggies, I deglazed the pan with about 1/2 cup of vegetable broth to make the veggies a bit more moist. It was FABULOUS! This is a great recipe because you can vary the ingredients to your liking. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Tried this recipe for a dinner party particularly for my vegan sister-in-law.....she is a fantastic cook and she raved at how tasty this was..and many of the carnivores agreed! We topped it with a fabulous mushroom vegan gravy which was just like putting the icing on the cake!!!!Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Andrea made this her way and is was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Greasy, heavy, and unsatisfying. IThe dish didn't take shape, and overall felt less like shepherd's pie and more like loaded mashed potatoes. The dish felt under seasoned and became palatable only after liberal application of salt and Frank's hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Since I don't eat meat,I almost didn't open the "Thanksgiving" email from Allrecipes,but am I glad I did. This recipe is so good. I would have never thought to attempt a shepards pie without meat. I made it vegetarian,not vegan, skipped the cream cheese,because I forgot to buy it and added mushrooms,because I love them, but the kept everything else the same. It is a great cold weather comfort food. I also like it because you can add or change the vegetables to suit your taste or what happens to be on hand. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Made non-vegan. Turned out great. And was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this dish on a whim so I did not have all the ingredients on hand. I used an instant mash potato mix for the topping. For the bottom, I used onions, garlic, carrots, canned corn, canned peas, canned tomatoes, and sweet peppers. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
My picky boys loved this! It's a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Excellent! My family eats this several times per month. I leave out the tomatoes and mix a packaged gravy mix (made with 1 cup of water) into the meat mixture, but other than that I prepare it according to the recipe. It is one of our absolute favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This is the best vegan recipe we’ve found on this site thus far. Technically, we made this vegetarian since subbing dairy cream cheese and cheddar cheese for soy products. For the mashed potatoes, subbed almond milk for soy milk, added 1/8 cup light ranch dressing, reduced the olive oil to 1/8 cup, added finely chopped parsley, and omitted the salt. Doubled the bottom layer, and subbed Sazón Tropical for the Italian seasoning. Used 2 (10 ounce) packages Marjon Tofu Crumbles, Politely Hot which enhanced the flavor. Used a 3 quart baking dish; baked for 25 minutes and then broiled on high for about two minutes to slightly brown the cheese. Great recipe, VeggieChefLaura, and hope you share some other ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe

Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States