Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe - it's fantastic! I doubled the recipe and my sons and husband devoured everything. I couldn't find vegan mayo or cream cheese so used regular (I didn't add oil to my potatoes). This was the first time I used soy cheese and enjoyed that too. Loved this recipe and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Made this vegetarian rather than vegan. Used half instant, half mashed red potatoes with butter and sour cream. Totally forgot we needed a tomato, so followed another reviewer's suggestion and used a bit more than half a can of veg broth, about a tbsp of butter & a little flour. Also for lack of tomato, threw in a few squirts of ketchup and a splash of soy sauce. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Love love love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rora Starita
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Amazing... I followed the recipe exact except I didn't have Italian seasoning so I improvised. Used Daiya soy cheese... so good! I put the casserole dishes under the broiler for the last 5 minutes because I am impatient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rora Starita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was awesome! I used instant mashed potatoes and substituted a can of mixed veggies for the celery. My non-veggie husband really liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made this with a couple of alterations as I am vegetarian, not vegan. I made the mashed potato with instant mash; I didnt use the olive oil or the cream cheese. For the bottom layer, I used sweetcorn as I didn't have any peas. I also added some veggie worcester sauce. It was meant to be a couple of tbps but ended up about twice as much as it sloshed in quicker than i expected! However, this seemed to add a special touch as the children were fighting for extras! Nobody noticed the topping was made from instant mash and I would make it this way again. A successful family meal in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent and easy to make! My fiance who is a big meat eater loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My whole family, even my very picky kids, loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Thanks for a great recipe. I had to alter it, as I didnt have some ingredients on hand. I used instant potatoes but used Tofutti & Trader Joes soy creamer and added fresh thyme. I didnt have fresh or canned tomatos so I used a veg broth and used margarine ad a little four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was really a great recipe. I made it for a vegan potluck I hosted a couple weeks ago. It was a hit! The mashed potatoes were awesome-- I was a little skeptical about using veganaise but it was really decadent. I'm making this again for dinner tonight. I skipped the soy cheese on top-- it's so rich as it is. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States