Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Rora Starita
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Amazing... I followed the recipe exact except I didn't have Italian seasoning so I improvised. Used Daiya soy cheese... so good! I put the casserole dishes under the broiler for the last 5 minutes because I am impatient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rora Starita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hickory Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was awesome! I used instant mashed potatoes and substituted a can of mixed veggies for the celery. My non-veggie husband really liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I made this with a couple of alterations as I am vegetarian, not vegan. I made the mashed potato with instant mash; I didnt use the olive oil or the cream cheese. For the bottom layer, I used sweetcorn as I didn't have any peas. I also added some veggie worcester sauce. It was meant to be a couple of tbps but ended up about twice as much as it sloshed in quicker than i expected! However, this seemed to add a special touch as the children were fighting for extras! Nobody noticed the topping was made from instant mash and I would make it this way again. A successful family meal in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Excellent and easy to make! My fiance who is a big meat eater loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My whole family, even my very picky kids, loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Thanks for a great recipe. I had to alter it, as I didnt have some ingredients on hand. I used instant potatoes but used Tofutti & Trader Joes soy creamer and added fresh thyme. I didnt have fresh or canned tomatos so I used a veg broth and used margarine ad a little four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was really a great recipe. I made it for a vegan potluck I hosted a couple weeks ago. It was a hit! The mashed potatoes were awesome-- I was a little skeptical about using veganaise but it was really decadent. I'm making this again for dinner tonight. I skipped the soy cheese on top-- it's so rich as it is. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This was great! I made it using dairy products instead of making it vegan however I still kept it vegetarian by using the ground beef substitute. I also used butter in the mashed potatoes instead of cream cheese because I didn't have any. I'm always looking for tasty vegetarian recipes since recently becoming one and this is one I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Great recipe! I did make a few changes to suit my tastes - I added mushrooms and pie crusts (I guess I made more of a "pot pie") Very yummy, and filling. I thought the mashed potato layer was fabulous. I would make this again, thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-119 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States