Traditional Style Vegan Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Thank you for posting this! It was so good! I used vegan sour cream in place of vegan mayo in the potato layer because that's what I had on hand. Did not use cheese because I didn't have any. Still awesome, I will make again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was soooo delicious! My only substitutes were rice milk instead of soy milk (was good, but want to try hemp milk next time) and rice "cheddar" instead of soy "cheddar". Potato mixture was a bit too liquid and "beef" crumbles were too crumbly. Will make adjustments for these next time. Thank you for this amazing vegan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
SOOOO yummy, and so easy because I had everything on hand except zucchini. I used dried potato flakes because they were what I had, and mixed in some packaged vegan mushroom gravy with the ground beef substitute based on other reviews. I will definitely make this over and over, though most likely leaving out the tomatoes because for me, they didn't really add anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Yummy and easy to make. I used instant mashed potatoes, ground turkey (browned separately on the stove), real cream cheese, and real mayo. I didn't have any italian seasoning so I used fresh basil, dried oregano, and one bay leaf (removed before baking). The only drawback for me is that the meat/veggie mixture isn't very gravy-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
DE-licious! I made this tonight and it was a big hit! I substituted zucchini for celery and used extra garlic. Next time I will use just a little less salt and a bigger baking pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I would technically give this recipe 4.5 stars because I think a nice mushroom gravy on the inside of the pie would be delicious. Changes: I omitted: the tomato, ground "beef", used 4 red potatoes, omitted the olive oil, "cheese" and cream cheese in the potato crust. I added: diced green beans, scallions, paprika, poultry seasoning, cajun seasoning, diced tofu marinated in soy sauce and liquid smoke, and 4 tablespoons of Chalula hot sauce to the potatoes. I wish I'd had some Daiya to sprinkle on top though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My first attempt at a vegan meal and it was great. I didn't put in the tomato because it just didn't seem right! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Card

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Casco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Brilliant. Takes awhile to make, but it's worth it. A very flexible recipe-- can use whatever veggies/meat substitutes you have. I used veggie burgers instead of fake ground beef and it came out with a wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Yum! Didn't use fake meat but added broccoli and mushrooms instead. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I thought this recipe was fabulous - my carnivore husband said "not bad" which is as much enthusiasm as he can muster for something with soy meat substitute. I followed the recipe pretty closely but added green beans and substituted 1 can of organic tomato sauce instead of the chopped tomato. I also sprinkled in a little worchestershire sauce and increased the Italian seasoning. The mashed potatoes I made exactly as the recipe reads. We ate it with ketchup, as others suggested. Definitely a homestyle comfort food type recipe. Even though it's kind of time intensive, I'll make it again. My prep time was more like 40 minutes and total time until ready was about an hour and a half. But worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie

See a version of shepherd pie with lamb, mashed potatoes, and Cheddar cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States