Traditional Springerle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PREGOCOOK
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
UPDATE! My mother called a few weeks ago and mentioned that she had tried making a variation for Valentine's Day with the zest of an orange and 1/8 tsp orange oil. AMAZING! and beautiful pressed with a springerle mold and then cut with a heart shaped cookie cutter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PREGOCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dhahran, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I was so daunted to make this... my fiance had made these beautiful wooden moulds so I could make these cookies for Christmas this year, and I was afraid to use them. I decided to make a preliminary batch this weekend, just to see if I could do it without embarassing myself. They turned out BEAUTIFULLY. They're almost too pretty to eat, but of course you must try them, and are they ever good!!! I love them with Chai tea. I'll be making another batch for the holidays, and will post pictures next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline Victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Paris, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greenbabby
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
These were great. My mom said they were just like her mom use to make. I did add a little lemon zest because that's the way my grandma used to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenbabby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
MAN! This is the first springerle recipe I have ever made that A) turned out and B) tasted good! Usually the anise flavoring in springerle cookies is too much for my taste, but these are superb! I have yet to find a traditional springerle board, but I cut them into squares and used a vintage Christmas rubber stamp to put a design on them. Thanks so MUCH for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AppleBrownBettie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Thank you so much for this terrific recipe. I'm Australian, and I had never heard of any biscuits ( cookies ) like these, especially with the anise seeds, and the length of time between cutting out and baking. Leaving them in a tin overnight made them chewy, rather than very hard as they were when they first came out of the oven. I cut them out with a diamond shape cutter, but may have to invest in a proper springerle mould for next time. We don't have these in Australia, but thank God for the Internet! I especially liked the fact that they are so different from most other cookies, because of the anise seeds, and the fact that they are not as sweet as most cookies. I followed the recipe exactly, and they were perfect - everyone loved them, and I'll definitely be making these again. Thanks so much, Jan from Geelong, Australia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe and I knew it would be because your granola bar recipe is the best!! Thank you, Ms. Pregocook for making my recipe box far better than it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was my first introduction to springerle. At first, I was unsure of these because I am not a fan of black licorice. After being talked into trying them, I was very surprised to find that anise in cookies is actually tasty! I really enjoyed these and was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebrunworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is by far a very simple and beautiful recipe and makes a beautiful gift. Thank you for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I, too, have many molds from House on the Hill, and have used their recipe, which is much more fussy than this. The molds are stunning; they'd better be for the cost, and people are always blown away by them-as if I carved each cookie myself! I have found that crimped cookie cutter shapes--square, rectangle, circle, do a nice job of finishing the cookies. I have also used stamps intended for ink to make nice impressions. I love "painting" the cookies with various food coloring recipes, although I have not found one that is quite what I'm looking for--does anyone out there have suggestions for this?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I liked the look of this recipe compared to the one that was passed down from my grand-mother, to my mother and then to me. I use a Springerle rolling pin rather than a mold, but I may see if I can find a mold for a different look. I have not yet inherited the rolling pin my mother got from her mother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjstrouble1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States