Traditional Russian Pirozhki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
next time I need to try different fillings!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Made 10 servings for my Russian theme dinner. Served with cabbage soup, "Russian Dipping Sauce," "Russian Garden Salad," "Instant Russian Tea," and "Russian Tea Cakes III."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I love this recipe, just like all other russian children, I grew up eating these! I also fry onions in olive oil until they are golden and sometimes a little bit burnt and add them to mashed potatoes, if you use the oil from frying the onions then you really dont need to add milk or butter whem mashing the potatoes. Another filling is sour cherries, i don't think anyone mentioned that, from what i know the traditional fillings for pirozhki that you can buy at a russian store is meat, potatoes, cabbage, or cherries, sometimes i'll also add 18% fat cottage cheese with a little of my favorite (or whatever i have in the pantry) jam inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This recipe is wonderful and a real crowd pleaser. My Russian Mother in law loved these. I recommend brushing them with egg yolk just before putting them in the oven for that professional, golden color and shininess. Also, it is very traditional to add cooked white rice with the filling or mashed potatoes. The salt and pepper are key in the filling; too little is very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Awesome. Used saurkraut. Next time I will remember to warm the milk before adding yeast. Probably will be more fluffy. I loved them. Kids did, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Almanzo Wilder
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
i haven't tried the recipe yet but im sure it's goin to be delicious. My parents usually fry those but the baked version is probably healthier. I have some suggestions for the filling. Cut up some hard boiled eggs and green onios and mix it all together plus season it with salt and pepper. Thats my favorite filling. Also mashed potatoes with some white onion is really good. But dont use the mashed potatoes from the package. I think they are not thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Oh my gosh! I have traveled to Russia many times and watched them make this recipe and wanted the recipe. These are absolutely delicious and taste every bit as good as I remember them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deenie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This recipe is fantastic! I followed the instructions to the letter, and they came out perfect. I can't wait to make them again, and experiment with different kinds of fillings. Thank you so much, Mariasaurus! ??????? ???????! Spasibo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I like to put mashed potatoes in it instead of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I don't usually do too well with baking, but this turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States