Traditional Russian Pirozhki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I'm really eager to try these, they look amazing. I was wondering, could i make these with sausage or hot dog for stuffing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artemis Dm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
We fried sauerkraut and bacon up to use as filling. They were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Very good recipe. Followed to the letter and my wife, who was born in Russia, approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Pirozhki turned out really nice - I am Ukrainian and these are the way I remember them. Before I left the dough to rise, I pat it with some vegetable oil to prevent drying out. My two fillings were: fried onions and ground beef; feta and spinach with a dash of nutmeg. I brushed the tops with a yolk beaten with a bit of water and my pirozhki were ready on 180C in 25 minutes. Vkusno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
The breading on this is very good!! I give that part 5 stars! I like to fill my Pirozhki with cabbage, ground pork, green onions, and skinny long rice noodles. I fry up all the filling ingredients first and then stuff the Pirozhki and bake it. This way you get a whole yummy meal in one bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Good ++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Ray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I made these a few weeks ago. They were easy to make and froze well. I'm anxious to try different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andrea92fl
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
The bread seemed a little bland, but it was pretty good! Make sure you don't mix the eggs up like i did... putting the hard boiled eggs with the dough!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I love these. I see that the cabbage filling is quite different from how my mother/family makes it. I just though i would share. My mother shreds the cabbage, dices some onions and grates some carrots. She sautes the onions and carrots until slightly golden and translucent. Sometimes she adds meat and she fries the meat before the onion and garlic and then she adds after it has cooked a little bit. After the onions and carrots are ready she tosses in the cabbage and sautes it all together just until the cabbage is slightly cooked. Then she adds tomato sauce and lets it all simmer for a few minutes until the cabbage is fully cooked but not too mooshy or too soft just give it a taste and test it. It is very delicious when added to the pirozhki. Give this a try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I thought these were pretty bland even with the eggs/cabbage being salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States