Traditional Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This tasted just like a reuben sandwich and my husband said it was even better!! :) I used deli corned beef and had them slice it about 1/2" thick, which worked out well and made it very easy to cut into cubes... The only ingredient changes I made were I didn't add the minced onion (we didn't miss it and besides, there are no onions on a reuben sandwich), I used LIGHT sour cream instead of regular, and I only used 10 slices of just the light rye bread because that's what I had on hand... To keep them from getting too soggy, I toasted the bread cubes first and made sure to squeeze out as much of the sauerkraut juice as I could before I layered it on top of the bread cubes... For the topping, I slightly crumbled about 1 cup of the toasted bread cubes and then tossed them in the melted butter, then sprinkled them on top of the cheese... Oh, and I sprayed the foil w/PAM before covering it, to keep it from sticking... YUM! YUM! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This recipe is excellent! Served this for New Years' dinner to my parents, everyone loved it. Only had lt. rye bread, used a little less dressing, and added some caraway seed & a little garlic powder. This cooks up so you can slice it like lasagna--will definitely add this to one of our regular recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
If you like rueben sandwhiches you'll love this, its basically a knife and fork version. different and yummy!! i did take others suggestions and toasted the bread first, i also cut the recipe in half and it was plenty for two people. i will definately make it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Love this recipe! It is a favorite in my family, even my 2 and 3 year olds love it. We're not big fans of corned beef so I substitute turkey and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I made this for my husband - the Reuben is one of his favorite sandwiches and I had Corned beef to use up. He liked it, it was just ok to me. I'm not a huge sauerkraut or thousand island dressing fan. It was fine, just not great to me. However, I will likely make it again for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Oh man, this was awesome. I pretty much just followed the recipe, but cut it in half. That was just the right amout for my fiance and I. We had a few leftovers but I finished those off for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Just made this with some left over corned beef. I used sauteed cabbage with onion instead of the sauerkraut because I didn't have any at home. It was still delicious and I could imagine how it would have tasted with the kraut. I also used light dressing but regular sour cream. We will have it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very good & easy recipe. I like to cook my cornbeef in the crockpot. I've never done the layering, just mix it all up and toss in a baking dish, saving some bread cubes for the top. Have brought to work in a crockpot, toasting some bread crumbs for the top and adding them on later, closer to eating time - turned out really good. Just incase you don't have a stove handy to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Not pretty, but it's tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe. I took a couple of suggestions from other reviewers and used marble rye and toasted the bread cubes. I drizzled 4 TBSP. of melted butter over the bread cubes before I toasted them. I kept out 1 cup of the toasted bread cubes and crushed them for the topping. I also drained and rinsed the sauer kraut and squeezed out all of the excess moisure that I could. I layered the ingredients as the recipe stated, but did not drizzle with the melted margarine, as I used the butter when toasting the bread cubes. This turned out as close to a grilled reuben as you can get. My DH loved it and had 3 helpings. The corned beef was expensive $9.99/lb, but if you figure what it would cost to have a good grilled reuben out, it was a bargain. I had the deli cut the corned beef into 1/2" slices so when I got home all I had to do is cube it. A wonderful recipe that will be made many more times for my family and friends. My co-workers are in for a treat at our next pot luck. Thanks for the recipe and the tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States