Traditional Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
My family really liked this - even the five year old. But it was WAY too rich for us. I will definitely try it again, but try to use lighter products (light margarine, light dressing, reduced fat sour cream). I made it exactly like it said and there seemed to be too much dressing and cheese -and my family LOVES cheese. I may cut this to only 1 cup dressing and 2 cups swiss cheese next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I made this for dinner last evening, and made a couple of substitutions. I substituted fat free sour cream and fat free thousand Island dressing for a lighter fare. I also used PAM on the baking dish and used real butter (better for you than margarine). I also used strictly light rye bread cubes. The recipe came out great and it was actually healthier than the original. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I'm not a real big reuben fan but this was great! I made this for my husband's carry-in at work, and they loved it! I just made a few modifications to the recipe. One, I put the sauerkraut on the bottom and omitted the bread cubes, but put extra on top. We used canned corned beef instead of deli style and it did excellent in this recipe, and a cost saver also! I made this the night before and thought with all the sitting, and early morning cooking (5am) that the bottom cubed bread would have gotten really soggy. They loved this recipe at work, it really went fast. The next time I make this I would reduce the dressing to 1 cup (8 oz) and mix with the sour cream. Even straining the sauerkraut really well and wringing it, there was a bit too much liquid in the bottom, but everyone loved this casserole! Super on a cold winter's day at work! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This was fantastic!!!!! I toasted the bread prior assembling the casserole and it did not get soggy at all. I also decrease the amount of swiss cheese to 2 cups. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly and was very happy with the results. This will definitely become one of our regular recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Swedesboro, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This tasted just like a reuben sandwich and my husband said it was even better!! :) I used deli corned beef and had them slice it about 1/2" thick, which worked out well and made it very easy to cut into cubes... The only ingredient changes I made were I didn't add the minced onion (we didn't miss it and besides, there are no onions on a reuben sandwich), I used LIGHT sour cream instead of regular, and I only used 10 slices of just the light rye bread because that's what I had on hand... To keep them from getting too soggy, I toasted the bread cubes first and made sure to squeeze out as much of the sauerkraut juice as I could before I layered it on top of the bread cubes... For the topping, I slightly crumbled about 1 cup of the toasted bread cubes and then tossed them in the melted butter, then sprinkled them on top of the cheese... Oh, and I sprayed the foil w/PAM before covering it, to keep it from sticking... YUM! YUM! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Awesome! Followed the directions exactly and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This recipe is delicious! Thank you! Tastes like a Big Mac. Yum. Instead of using 2 different breads I used the Pepperidge Farm Rye/Pumpernickle Swirl Bread and layered the ingredients: bread, kraut, beef, dressing, cheese, repeat. Fantastic! Although I haven't tried it, I'm sure this recipe would be good using chicken and light dressing to cut a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
Since I detest Reubens, but the rest of my family loves 'em, I thought I would try it.My husband and kids really liked this one. The only thing they all agreed on would be to add more of the thousand island mixture next time. It apparently made a good lunch the next day around, as my husband said it heated up well in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was pretty good. I used another recipe from this site to cook my corned beef prior. It is the Corned Beef and Cabbage II recipe--which I highly recommend. I used only light Rye bread, that's all I could find. I think I needed a stronger flavor of Rye than what I used. I used fat free thousand island & I don't recommend that. I think it needs more flavor from the dressing than the fat free offers. I did, however, use the light sour cream and would do that again. This dish tasted much better as leftovers. I will make this again with using darker rye and thousand island with some fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was delicious. I cut the recipe in half (although I still had to use more bread) and it still made a large pan. Have enough leftovers for 2 more nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTYLEE3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

How to Make a Reuben

Make a deli-worthy toasted Reuben in your own kitchen. It’s fast and easy!

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States