Traditional Reuben Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Mmmm good! I used light sour cream & used rye/pumpernickle bread combo instead of two seprate breads. I cut the recipie in half for my huband and I but next time I make it I think I will need to make the full amount. My husband couldn't stop eating and we also like leftovers for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I HAVE TAKEN THIS TO MANY EVENTS, AND THEY ALWAYS ASK FOR THE RECIPE. IT'S A FANTASTIC DISH. KATHY FROM WI.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Springbrook, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Next time, I'll about 1/2 to 3/4 of the thousand island/sour cream mix. There was so much that I felt I should put some lettuce on my plate for a salad. Besides this, it was good! I only used dark rye bread to avoid having to increase the cost by buying 2 different types. And my grocery store didn't offer shredded swiss cheese, but I just put slices on the casserole and that worked fine. Finally, I cut the recipe in half for 2 people and have PLENTY of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
OMG...I really don't know what to say... except it's THE BEST casserole EVER! I wouldn't alter this. I did have to substitute butter for margarine, & I couldn't find sliced rye, so I used those neat loaves you get at a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Fabulous! I scaled the recipe to six servings, but that was the only change made, other than using those round rye and pumpernickel loaves rather than pre-sliced bread. This was awesome, I cannot heap enough praise on this recipe. My seven year old wouldn't eat it, but all the rest of us loved it. I will make this again and again. I also think it would make a killer dip, with the corned beef shredded and all the filling baked in a round pumpernickel loaf and served with toasted party rye rounds. My compliments to your husband's aunt, Aveyed, and to you for passing this along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Yummy! I made the recipe as is - except I reduced the meat to 3/4 pound - and had the deli shred/slice it for me real thin instead of cutting it into bite-size pieces myself. Left the rest the same and the whole family raved over it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This was pretty good. I used another recipe from this site to cook my corned beef prior. It is the Corned Beef and Cabbage II recipe--which I highly recommend. I used only light Rye bread, that's all I could find. I think I needed a stronger flavor of Rye than what I used. I used fat free thousand island & I don't recommend that. I think it needs more flavor from the dressing than the fat free offers. I did, however, use the light sour cream and would do that again. This dish tasted much better as leftovers. I will make this again with using darker rye and thousand island with some fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
I used a bit more bread but we loved this. Kind of changed things up than the regular ruebens. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This recipe is delicious! Thank you! Tastes like a Big Mac. Yum. Instead of using 2 different breads I used the Pepperidge Farm Rye/Pumpernickle Swirl Bread and layered the ingredients: bread, kraut, beef, dressing, cheese, repeat. Fantastic! Although I haven't tried it, I'm sure this recipe would be good using chicken and light dressing to cut a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I made this for dinner last evening, and made a couple of substitutions. I substituted fat free sour cream and fat free thousand Island dressing for a lighter fare. I also used PAM on the baking dish and used real butter (better for you than margarine). I also used strictly light rye bread cubes. The recipe came out great and it was actually healthier than the original. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza Casserole

Everything you love about pizza in a simple casserole.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States